Super Mom

From one generation to another

I cannot be held responsible for my obsession love of photography.  It’s come down many many generations.  Even before it was popular or affordable.  From both sides of my family.   Now this is one gene I’m not complaining about!

My mom is busy decluttering her home and found this old camera of my grandfather. 

As you can see it’s still complete with instruction manual and bag.  In brilliant condition too.

It’s a Kodak Sterling II.  Don’t know why “II” since there never was a “I” lol  I wish I can get a spool for it but it seems that it is no longer available.  (Well since it was made in the 1950 I’m surprised!)

Apparently this camera was a favourite under schoolboys.  I can just imagine the boys walking around, taking photos of all the girls 🙂

I’d love to shoot just one roll though…. not of all the girls tough but of all my boys 🙂

10 responses

  1. Dis nou ‘n goeie erfporsie …

    Its in excellent condition. Still looks new. BTW, I have only seen ones like that in a museum behind a glass, of course.

    September 10, 2008 at 7:28 pm

  2. Wow, what a find!!

    September 10, 2008 at 8:50 pm

  3. my3boysandi

    wow thats cool
    i LOVE old things

    September 10, 2008 at 10:42 pm

  4. it really is in excellent condition!!

    September 11, 2008 at 10:12 am

  5. Mom Archer

    Oupa always took such good care of all his stuff. That is why I kept it so carefully for so many years.

    I know you appreciate it and it will be well taken care of

    Mom

    xxxx

    September 11, 2008 at 1:09 pm

  6. Isis

    congrats to such a wonderful heirloom!

    September 11, 2008 at 4:31 pm

  7. Wow!! That is really neat! What a great collectible. It looks brand new!!

    September 11, 2008 at 6:38 pm

  8. There has GOT to be a way to use it. Someone somewhere in this world has what you need.

    September 12, 2008 at 4:00 am

  9. wow… thats gawjiss!!

    just a question- doesn’t a 126 spool (large format) fit in there?

    September 12, 2008 at 3:39 pm

  10. Calling Him Out

    That’s cool!

    September 13, 2008 at 1:49 pm

Leave a Reply

