Super Mom

1 minute 1 lifetime

I think my heart may have stopped beating for 5 minutes.  All that was needed to resuscitate me was the sound of my child screaming crying.

Our ENT came out after the operation (that took 40 minutes), to tell us it went well and that Zander is in the recovery room.  Our hospital is small and we have been there a zillion too many times.  We know where the sound of the nurse’s voice will come from.  We can always recognise our child waking up.

Today we could hear the nurse calling his name but no response from him.  For 10 minutes!  My heart stopped beating.  Tommie was ready to walk through the surgery doors and look for Zander himself.  Then I heard that beautiful scream cry of my very own baby boy. 

I ran to the door to take him from the arms of the nurse.  To tell him that he did well and I love him and I’m glad to have him back in my arms.

It all did go well.  He is handling the pain “okay”.  He has had Coke to drink, had crisps to eat.  Even biltong and dinner that my mom made.

I was pretty emotional today.  I was sitting waiting, so close to crying when the ENT came out to say that Zander is out and they are ready to start with the procedure.  Then I cried.  I told him that I need him to take extra special care of my little boy.  When he walked away I just cried and cried. 

I’m not normally this emotional when my boys go in for operations but today I was.  Very much so.

I love this photo that I took of Zander and Tommie, right before they took him in.

18 responses

  1. I am very glad that he is ok. My daughter only had to get tubes one time. This stinks that they couldn’t get the operation done right the first time. I feel for the little guy. Keep us posted.

    September 18, 2008 at 12:15 am

  2. Oh Melany, I don’t know how you did it. Thank the Lord he is OK. Hugs to you and brave Mr. Zander!

    September 18, 2008 at 12:26 am

  3. Mel – never an easy thing to watch a loved one go through. Glad to hear that he is okay.

    September 18, 2008 at 1:05 am

  4. orangeninja76

    BIG HUGS!!!

    You are such a loving mother!

    September 18, 2008 at 4:08 am

  5. Hay

    Awww, gorgeous pic. I had to hold Denver as they put her under, handing her limp body across the table was an awful moment. I cried and cried. Then she ouldn’t wake up well either, scared me senseless.
    Big hugs!

    September 18, 2008 at 9:18 am

  6. I have goosebumps reading this! Glad he is ok and hope he is doing well.

    September 18, 2008 at 1:16 pm

  7. jenty

    Love that photo!!! Glad he’s OK. I can just imagine how scary it was

    September 18, 2008 at 1:34 pm

  8. It really sucks to feel so hopeless – I know that feeling. When Chloe was 4 mnts old she had to have gromets. I cried all the way to the hospital, all through the op and even when I was holding her again, I was still crying!!!!

    But all is well, that ends well.

    Like that photo, Mel.

    September 18, 2008 at 2:21 pm

  9. Melany,

    I am still crying after reading your post! I am so glad he is okay. I get so emotional when my children are in pain or sick. I even cry when the baby needs to get her immunization shots, which she needs to get next week! Ugh!

    Give him lots of hugs. Oh yeah, I got ice cream when I had my tonsils out…lots and lots of ice cream!

    Maureen

    September 18, 2008 at 4:12 pm

  10. I am so glad that it all turned out okay! What a horrible, stressful time for you and your husband.

    September 18, 2008 at 7:43 pm

  11. Gorgeous, gorgeous picture of your boys. My 3 year old goes to the ENT for a consult for a 2nd set of tubes next Wednesday. Never fun, that scream from the anesthesia. But I cannot imagine waiting that long. Prayers be with you – hope he’s doing well!

    September 19, 2008 at 3:01 am

  12. oh i am so blessed that i have never had to go through that!

    September 19, 2008 at 7:47 am

  13. Heck I was ready to bash down those hospital doors for you, just reading your post…why are there so many heart stopping moments as mothers? WHY? No one ever told me about these bits, and them being so hard.

    September 19, 2008 at 11:40 am

  14. Mom Archer

    I was also very stressed out about this I don’t know why 😦 I am so Thankful all went well and that he is getting over it so fantastically

    xxxx

    September 20, 2008 at 5:16 pm

  15. Kids are so much more resilient than the parents for these things. I had to go home and nurse an infant by the time my oldest came out of adenoid surgery. My husband was there to see her. Poor little Pooh bear. Although the more she came out of it the more fun she had…popsicles, soda pop, a stuffed duck, new hospital pajamas. Wish they’d offer the moms a glass of wine or some chocolate!

    September 20, 2008 at 5:23 pm

  16. Kimberly

    Oh Melany…that had to be so scary for you! I am glad that Zander is doing well and that he is on the mend. 🙂

    (((HUGS)))

    Kim

    September 21, 2008 at 3:15 pm

  17. I hope Zander is going ok now. What a scary thing to go through.

    September 21, 2008 at 4:44 pm

  18. I have tears in my eyes…I think every mom can relate to this. We would rather go through something ourselves than have our kids go through it. They are like our very hearts beating outside of our own bodies.

    September 25, 2008 at 8:43 pm

Leave a Reply

