Super Mom

… and so I learned what I knew

Last week was great.  I loved being available for the boys.  Whenever they needed me.  I loved being more relaxed.  More in tune with them. 

I realized two things.  I could totally cancel all my clients for an entire week and the world did not come to a standstill.  No this does not mean that I can do this all the time BUT it does mean that I don’t have to kill myself with work like I have been.  I just need to say NO more.  Or say that I can’t finish stuff right away.  I can only do so much in so many hours and that’s it.  The rest must wait….or be delegated.

The other thing is that I need to spend more time with the boys.  I think children who have either a mom / dad who can be a full-time parent must have an advantage.  I want my kids to have that.  From after the tax season, I’m not going to see clients in the afternoon.  No more.  I’ll pick my boys up from school and go home.  I’ll let them play, do homework, play and spend quality time.  Then I’ll work. 

My number one priority right now is my boys.  I changed my whole life when I had Quintus.  I quit a high-paying job so that I could be there, with him, for him.  With time that has changed and I have allowed myself to let the balance go in favour of work. 

Yes, I need to work.  I need to bring in an income.  I just need to change my hours.  I have my own business and I don’t see why I can’t.

10 responses

  1. Cheryl

    I wish I could be a “SUPERMOM” like you Mel.

    October 6, 2008 at 9:42 pm

  2. my3boysandi

    hey wow!!!
    when did you change your blog look
    its cool!!!

    good on you again!!!

    last week when you said you were going to take the week off I congratulated you
    (on face book) Im doing it again
    well done Mel
    Good on you my friend

    our children are important and they grow so fast
    spending time with them is important and only for a limited time
    all too soon they will have flown the nest

    I pray you can achieve your goal
    without getting burnt out from work

    again I say WTG!!!

    peace
    Jen

    October 6, 2008 at 9:46 pm

  3. Of course you can. Go you. Super Accountant Mom Woman!

    October 6, 2008 at 9:54 pm

  4. Gen

    You go for it – I would not swop what I have right now for anything (although I am feeling the need for something to keep me busy while the kids go to school). You are a “Supermom” and can achieve anything you want – Good on You Mel……:-)

    October 7, 2008 at 1:19 am

  5. Wenchy

    You very lucky that you can do it, so do it for all of us who can’t

    October 7, 2008 at 8:02 am

  6. you go girl!

    October 7, 2008 at 8:21 am

  7. Isis

    good for you and good for your family.
    I wish you many good things to come out of that. Mom’s are the most important people in the world. 🙂

    October 7, 2008 at 5:38 pm

  8. Good for you! I hope it all works out well. Your boys will truly benefit.

    October 8, 2008 at 4:38 am

  9. Lucky fish!!!

    Although, I must say, two years ago I left my higly paid, 9-5 office job and accepted a meagerly paid job at a school nearby to spend more time with my children. Finances are low but what we have now can never be replaced by any amount of money!

    October 8, 2008 at 11:30 am

  10. Good for you! I work mornings-only so that I can be with my girls in the afternoon and although we have had to scrimp and scrape a LOT financially, I wouldn’t change if for anything.

    October 8, 2008 at 1:53 pm

Leave a Reply

