Super Mom

Exhausted

I’m exhausted.  Soos in moeg.  By 9 o’clock I crash.  It’s probably because we are so busy at work.  Then also generally moms are tired.  Goes with the territory I suppose 🙂

I have thought about writing a post about my little Zander.  About how exhausting he can be.  How challenging.  How typically two. 

I think I was spoiled by Quintus and Jason.  They were near perfect toddlers.  Tantrums was something I knew nothing about. 

Zander is not that.  He tantrums.  He often doesn’t listen.  He wants.  Everything.  Especially if it’s something Jason has.  He can cling to me and push me away at the same time.

It’s exhausting.  It is also very much normal two year old behaviour.  Mostly though he is a sweetie.  He loves sport and anything ‘boy’.    He melts my heart when he holds my leg and says “Lief jou Mammie”  (Love you Mommy).  I adore the way he talks.  I love how he asks where everyone is, mostly not forgetting anyone (including his dog).

I love this child with my entire being.  I want to protect him from myself others who may expect of him to act older than he is.   I often hear myself say “He’s only two”.  

My baby boy, you won’t always be ‘only two’.  Soon you won’t want or need my protection.  I hope that then I did well enough with the little toddler You.  The one the continuously challenges my parenting.

Photo by Jason de Bruyn

11 responses

  1. Wenchy

    Hy lyk net soos Tommie

    October 11, 2008 at 12:01 am

  2. my3boysandi

    hes adorable
    and I like this age a lot

    October 11, 2008 at 2:01 am

  3. He looks so sweet. 🙂 And he grows up too fast. They should stay little just a little while longer. ;D

    October 11, 2008 at 6:54 am

  4. Gee-zas, he has GROWN! Of course I’m forgetting that mine are growing too. Damn it’s all to fast.

    I remember with Skippy 2.5-3 was the worst. Now he’s 3 it seem so much easier…but more tiring…

    October 11, 2008 at 8:34 am

  5. Love the layout. Connor is the same, it’s very very tiring.

    October 11, 2008 at 9:49 am

  6. Marié Archer

    What a beautiful photo of Zander. I agree with you Melany I find myself not being able to get upset with him when he is in one of his modes. I just remind myself he is the last little one and we need to enjoy even those moods.

    October 11, 2008 at 11:21 am

  7. Wenchy

    Please do the Q&A on my blog re Tommie?

    October 11, 2008 at 11:37 am

  8. Wenchy

    PS. I should have my name in this category cloud dammit. LOL

    October 11, 2008 at 11:38 am

  9. He is beautiful! You wrote; “I love this child with my entire being”. Oh do I know that feeling… well said. ~K

    October 11, 2008 at 3:57 pm

  10. What a sweety. Isn’t it amazing how unique these children of ours can be?!!

    October 11, 2008 at 6:22 pm

  11. orangeninja76

    What a little cutie you have there! Great photo, and I’m sure you are doing a great job as mom!

    October 12, 2008 at 7:18 am

Leave a Reply

