Super Mom

Sheep in the backyard

I don’t even know how to word this.  And let me make clear this is not a race issue!  Purely a cultural difference that I have huge issues with.

Last night parent’s neighbour phoned them, completely freaked out.  My parents live in a predominantly so-called white area.  Two houses from them lives a black couple with their children.  I think the wife is an attorney.  We don’t see much of them but they seemed nice enough the times we have met.

They have been keeping sheep in their back yard!! (Now please, these are normal size houses and yards.  Not a plot or farm!)  Their neighbour heard a noise and thought that maybe they had forgotten to give the sheep water before they left and she looked over the wall to check.

To her horror she saw them slaughtering the sheep.  Right there.  In their back yard.  By themselves.  Just like that.  In a normal neighbourhood.  Those poor poor animals.  There’s just so many things wrong here!

Yes, in some black cultures it is completely acceptable and actually something that is often done.  I’m sorry.  Even there in the dust in Botswana or the mountains of Lesotho, I still think it’s not right.  I don’t think one should slaughter an animal like that.  Especially not here in town.  Here where you don’t have to do it that way.  Where you should not do it that way.  One where I hope one may not. 

She did phone the animal protection services.  Still waiting to hear from them.

I’m just shocked.  It’s just sick.

11 responses

  1. my3boysandi

    I am wondering whether and what the animal protection services will say
    here in New Zealand you would get in BIG trouble for doing that

    Id like to know the end of this story – what they had to say

    my sister and her family kept at least one sheep on their 3/4 acre section years ago
    but they did send it away to get slaughted

    Jen

    October 15, 2008 at 9:32 pm

  2. I have to disagree on this issue. Actually an issue quite close to my heart.
    The treatment of animals bred to be eaten is shocking, no matter how they are slaughtered. I definitely don’t think it should be done in anyone’s backyard because we don’t pay to live in a civilsed area to have that type of carry-on. We don’t even like loud music after ten in the evening.
    But let’s be under no misconception about what goes on at the abbatoir houses. Firstly, the poor animals are herded into big trucks, squashed in against each other with barely room to breathe. Then they arrive, soiled and terrified, at the slaughter house, forced to walk a gauntlet, all the while hearing the terrified sounds made by the animals in front of them. The smell of death all around them.
    “Sheep are stunned first. They are then killed by having the blood vessels in their throat slit. The animal dies by being bled to death. Sheep are usually stunned electrically whereby an electric current is applied by means of two electrodes in the form of tongs. These are placed on either side of the brain. The current should induce a state of immediate epilepsy (electroplectic shock) in the brain, during which time the animal is unconscious. Stunning may often be ineffective and sheep may regain consciousness during bleeding-out or even before throat-slitting.”

    I quoted that from a UK site, but I imagine things aren’t that different in SA.

    If I were a sheep, I might just opt for the backyard, frankly.

    I’d be interested to hear what animal protection services has to say about all this.

    Sorry about this rant, but I really do hate what is going on at the slaughter houses. Most inhmane.

    October 15, 2008 at 10:25 pm

  3. Here no farm animals are alowed in the cities/towns. Period.
    If we knew/saw how the animals get treated/killed we eat every day, we would become vegetarians. I agree very much with Maggie here. Slaughterhouses are horrible. But that does not mean the back yard in the city or town is the right place for slaughtering.
    You did not mention how they killed the animal, so I can’t say wether it was the right or wrong way. Or sanitary and such.

    October 16, 2008 at 5:03 am

  4. Maggie – Very true. I hate that animals have to be killed period. I did go without eating meat for a long time just because I felt so strongly about it.
    I do however NOT want it to happen while my kids could be looking over the wall

    October 16, 2008 at 6:41 am

  5. I don’t think I’d want sheep butchering going on next door either. Yuck!

    October 16, 2008 at 4:37 pm

  6. I know *exactly* what you mean by cultural, not racial. This is what overseas people just don’t *get* about SA. It’s rarely racial, but cultural – hell – even tribal if you look at what’s going on at the moment.

    Well I can tell you this much, sheep are classed as agricultural animals. Just like horses. Now since I’m familiar with horses, I can tell you that the law states that any agricultural animal has to be kept on a property that is a MINIMUM of 2 acres in size. The area has to be zoned both residential and agricultural if they’re going to keep anything on it – like some suburbs in Cape Town i.e. Noordhoek, Constantia etc the ‘horsey’ suburbs.

    It sounds like what they did was not only cruel (as is any animal slaughter) but illegal. But we all know what’s going to happen to them right? Absolutely SWEET F*CK ALL. Welcome to Africa people, take a seat, oh wait, somebody already has.

    October 16, 2008 at 7:38 pm

  7. Wenchy

    For me, sheeps and eating meat is part of life and slaughtering a cow / sheep / goat or even neighbour may seem perfectly dandy for the said black attorney stocking up her freezer…. and although it certainly is out of our comfort zone!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love Africa.

    October 17, 2008 at 8:49 am

  8. I eat meat – as you know – but I am not sure I would want my neighbours giving it a bit of a slaughter in their backyard for everybody to see – especially the kids.

    October 17, 2008 at 1:37 pm

  9. I think reading the comments was almost as informative as the post itself. I too would like to hear the end of this story. I can’t having to endure it in my next door neighbor’s yard though.

    October 17, 2008 at 4:09 pm

  10. I am of course shocked but where I live no one is allowed to have animals except domesticated ones (cats, dogs, ferrets, etc). So the thought of my neighbor slaughtering an animal just past our property….ugh sends chills up and down my spine!

    October 17, 2008 at 9:17 pm

  11. orangeninja76

    I’m afraid that whatever opinion I may express on this subject will be considered insensitive…so I’m going to keep my trap shut for once.

    I will agree in saying I wouldn’t want animal slaughtering going on where my child could see it either.

    October 21, 2008 at 4:03 am

Leave a Reply

