Super Mom

Overweight

Children in our diverse, beautiful, crime-ridden country doesn’t have the freedom that kids have in most other countries.  There’s no riding outside on your bicycle until sunset.  Playing ball at a park with your friends. 

I think in a way this must contribute to weight gain over all.  My boys take part in sport but that’s only from about March to September.  The rugby and cricket seasons.  The rest of the time there’s no structured activity.  Which leaves the possibility of gaining weight.

YES many kids won’t go out cycling anyway or prefer to sit in front of the TV and computer.  Thankfully my kids can easily be limited.  They don’t complain too much when I tell them to rather go outside and play.   However 10 metres is just not enough for a proper rugby game and boy is it ever easy to run them out in cricket!

It’s actually kinda sad if you think about it.  Hopefully summer pool time will give them enough exercise 😛

10 responses

  1. I worry sometimes about how much food I have to force into Noah because of hypoglycemia that I am encouraging him into a path of overeating. For now, he seems to be fine, but it always makes me wonder when I am nagging him to eat every three hours.

    Hey, I also wanted to let you know that I had to go private for a little while and I hope you will email me so I can get you back into my readers again.

    October 21, 2008 at 8:10 pm

  2. markus

    even when its save to go outside, like here in the UK the climate of fear that has been blown up by the media, means that kids don’t go out to play even in their own garden

    October 21, 2008 at 8:26 pm

  3. Hay

    Oh summer pool time will do the job alright!

    October 21, 2008 at 10:09 pm

  4. Do you have access to a Wii? Great stuff that!

    October 21, 2008 at 11:35 pm

  5. kaylee2

    I use wii fit to exercise

    October 22, 2008 at 1:39 am

  6. Liam especially loves the pool…. Kevin will wish you good luck with that and Victoria plays but doesn;t really swim

    October 22, 2008 at 10:52 am

  7. somayya

    its actually quite sad ……my daughter has become just that …couch potatoe cos after 16:00 its too dangerous for her to be playing by herself outside ……….

    October 22, 2008 at 11:52 am

  8. Send them over to us to play table-tennis 😉

    October 22, 2008 at 3:17 pm

  9. you are correct, there are very few physical games that children could play.

    October 24, 2008 at 11:53 am

  10. thats one plus point of my damien being an adhder… he’ll never be overweight with his energy levels!!!
    😀

    November 1, 2008 at 9:26 am

Leave a Reply

