Super Mom

The less you do

Tonight it was open day at the school.  You know those days where the school brings out their best and advertise themselves.  You know, I must say, the school went through SO much trouble.  It was a huge success.   There were so many children and parents.  The kids had a ball.  I was exhausted.

I had four kids with me (Jason’s one friend came with me).  Me and 4 kids.  No husband.  Just me and 4 kids.  Between a zillion children and their parents.  Little child following the bigger children, who are still not big enough to just stand out between so many other 5/6 year olds.  Oh my word.  Exhausting!!!!

I was standing with one of the moms when she asked me if I helped to decorate some of the tables.  I explained that at this stage, I just could not.  I’m already helping with the concert and with me having clients every hour, I just don’t have the time. 

She said that she could also not help, since she had two birthday parties this week…..o.k.a.y. … I’m waiting for her to add something catastrophic to that but no…she couldn’t help because she had two parties.  She doesn’t work and she used that as an excuse?  You know that saying that the less you do, the less you can do…so true.  If I were her, I’d just say no and not use that as an excuse 😉

4 responses

  1. Always better to just say you have a conflict and are not able to help rather than give the excuse that never sounds so good.

    I previously wrote about a friend that could not come to our summer party because she was out buying a new car. Keep in mind that she had all intentions of coming but called at 6:01 (party started at 6:00) to say that she was out buying a new car. She went into how what a great deal she was getting. Keep in mind this party we give for friends and neighbors and takes months to prepare not to mention the money that is invested. So needless to say I would have rather had her tell me that something came up.

    http://theharrigans.squarespace.com/journal/2008/8/11/the-party.html here is the story.

    Juggling 3 of your own and an extra – good for you.

    October 23, 2008 at 3:43 am

  2. I think you are amazing, the way you fit everything in.

    And I absolutely LOVE the photo of Bella and Flekkie! LOL at their guilty expressions.

    October 23, 2008 at 8:49 am

  3. Wenchy

    I think people must learn to say NO without giving an explanation.

    Ek mis jou.

    October 24, 2008 at 10:12 am

  4. does she cater the parties? ‘coz then i may understand her being busy…

    November 1, 2008 at 9:24 am

Leave a Reply

