Super Mom

Today was too much

My day started with a crisis and ended in the same way.

Tommie woke me up and said that there was something stuck in my dog’s throat.  She was battling to breath and clearly trying to get it out.  It was getting worse and worse and she was getting weaker.  Eventually the Vet was available and she was ‘admitted’.  He gave her some or other medication, kept her there, took x-rays and she had a bone that thankfully by then had worked it’s way into her stomach.  Thank goodness she is okay.

Then there’s my little Quintus.  I went to pick the boys up from school and Quintus came walking out of the offices…crying?  Clutching his stomach.  Apparently he threw up around 10 am and from 12 had been crying all the time.  In pain.  They say they tried to get hold of me but I didn’t answer my phone?!  The one lying next to me?!  The one that doesn’t show a missed call!?  Why did they not try any of the 3 other numbers they have on their file?????

Something told me this wasn’t the normal stomach ache / tummy virus.  I got an appointment for him and Mommy intuition was right.  Tommie got back from the doctor with him and said his appendix was on the verge of rupturing.  It had to come out ASAP.  We were told to go directly to hospital with him.  I left everything on my desk just like that, grabbed clothes for us and there we were.  In hospital.  Getting medication for the horrible pain, his drip etc.etc

He would have been taken in at 6 pm.  Changed to 5:45.  I explained to him in detail what would happen.  He met the nursing staff.  He was taken into the ward and our long stressful wait began.

Well about 15 minutes later the anesthetist came walking past.  As in, he just arrived at the hospital!  So my child has been there and NO-ONE else?  Just the nurses?  Why did they take him in then!?  Why was he lying in the theatre, scared with bright white lights and no doctors?  I got so ticked off with the anaesthetists when I asked him why he is so late and he so casually answered that he only got to leave now.  No sorry or niks.

Then it takes forever for Quintus to come out.  FINALLY our doctor (who would be doing the procedure…the one we saw earlier in the day) comes out and apologises for not being the one who operated!!!!????  Apparently the other doctors decided he took too long to get to hospital (after he did phone and say he was going to be late) that they went ahead and did the operation.  THAT’S MY CHILD!!!  I’m waiting outside the theatre.  How about coming out to ASK me if it’s okay.  I don’t know the doctor who did the operation.  I trust MY doctor and that’s why I agreed to HIM taking out the appendix!!!

I tell you that today has just been too much.  I will be taking up all the issues with the relevant people but right now, I am sitting on my most uncomfortable hospital chair / bed thing, holding my son’s hand.  Like he asks me to every time he wakes up.

23 responses

  1. Wenchy

    What a horrid day. I am glad you and Quinty is fine!

    October 28, 2008 at 11:03 pm

  2. Shame, Mel. Sorry to hear abour ordeals of the day. Sjoe, must have been a horrible roller coaster ride for you.

    Glad to hear all is well – hopefully you taking the day off tomorrow!!

    October 28, 2008 at 11:40 pm

  3. my3boysandi

    your poor wee dog

    my thoughts and prayers go out to Quintus
    hope he feels better real soon

    LOVE HUGS
    Jen

    October 29, 2008 at 12:09 am

  4. Calling Him Out

    Oh man! I hope he has a speedy recovery. Glad all is fine. Take care. ~ Hugs ~

    October 29, 2008 at 12:10 am

  5. Oh my gracious! I hope he recovers quickly!!!

    October 29, 2008 at 4:32 am

  6. jenty

    Oh shame man!!! Hope he’s ok today.

    October 29, 2008 at 6:35 am

  7. Glad your puppy is ok.
    All the best wishes to Quintus. Hope he will be well soon.
    All the best to you. Hope you will survive in one piece. This day was obviously hell for you. *hugs*

    October 29, 2008 at 7:00 am

  8. Bat

    Poor guy! So young to have to experience this. Hoping and praying for a speedy recovery. And hope the rest of your week is more peaceful.

    October 29, 2008 at 7:45 am

  9. I hope Quinty is feeling loads better today. It was so awful to see him in such pain yesterday. We’ll see you later. Strongs!

    October 29, 2008 at 8:22 am

  10. Sarah

    Thinking of you all

    October 29, 2008 at 8:50 am

  11. Jennyklass

    Shame Melany, what a brave boy you have, i hope he feels better soon, sending Huggs to you both …….

    October 29, 2008 at 9:14 am

  12. Gen

    Aw Mel, hope all is ok with Quintus today sending lotsa good “aussie” vibes your way.

    Gen and Family

    October 29, 2008 at 12:52 pm

  13. Awww, poor Quintus! He’s so lucky to have such a great Mom who listens to her intuition and is his strongest advocate.

    I hope he feels better soon! Hugs to all of you ~ including the puppy!

    October 29, 2008 at 2:47 pm

  14. What a day you must have had. Poor Quintus – hope he is ok and on the mend.

    October 29, 2008 at 3:30 pm

  15. What an awful day! I hope Quintus is feeling better now. (((HUGS)))

    October 29, 2008 at 4:45 pm

  16. Sheeez that is scary! Hope he’s recovering well.

    October 29, 2008 at 7:37 pm

  17. Oh my heavens! I’d say you had TOO much! Goodness I hope and pray for a speedy recovery for Quintus. How scary it must have been for him! And YOU!

    October 29, 2008 at 7:59 pm

  18. Oh poor kiddo! What an ordeal! I hope he feels better soon :O)

    October 29, 2008 at 11:16 pm

  19. I don’t know where to start, so I’ll just send good thoughts to your whole family. I’m so glad that Quintus is out of surgery and that his appendix is out. I hope the recovery is easy for him. Take care.

    October 30, 2008 at 3:46 am

  20. You and Quintus are in my thoughts and prayers. I hope he feels better very soon.

    October 30, 2008 at 4:55 pm

  21. that was indeed a loooong long day. i’m glad its over and he’s home again!

    November 1, 2008 at 8:13 am

  22. That day was much too much indeed. Praying for a speedy recovery of Quintus.

    November 1, 2008 at 9:18 am

  23. Oh my goodness….poor little Quintus!! I hope he is feeling much better now 🙂 How scary for you guys…
    xoxo

    November 5, 2008 at 12:26 pm

Leave a Reply

