Super Mom

When you don’t earn money

It’s not easy to look other people in the eye when you need something.  When you can’t don’t earn your own income.  When buying something in a shop is not as easy as opening your wallet.

That must be how little people feel.  Especially little two year olds who needs wants something.

We were in the shop buying the odd groceries when Zander asked me to take him out of the trolley.  He said that he wanted to show me something and as we walked down the aisle he sang “Jingle Bells”.  So darn cute.  He got to the exact toy he wanted to show me and as tempting as it was to buy it, I explained to him that I don’t have enough money with me.  He did not take that well.

He didn’t tantrum but he cried and asked me over and over to please buy it.  Saying over and over that he wants it.  Even going as far as saying he wants to show his Dad.  I felt so sorry for him. 

He was sad and unhappy and crying all the way to the car.  I kept on telling him that I’ll go back and buy it when I have money.  He told me to go back and buy it.  To please go and buy it.  My heart just broke.

On our way home he worked it all out in his little 2 year old mind though.  Through tears he told me that I must go to work.  I must go work and then go buy him his toy. 

How very clever and sweet is that. 

Still feel sad for him though.  Not easy when you can’t don’t earn money.

13 responses

  1. my3boysandi

    it is hard when you dont have enough

    I do believe though that children cant have everything they want

    November 18, 2008 at 3:31 am

  2. It is very hard when you can’t give them the things they want.

    November 18, 2008 at 6:11 am

  3. Ag shame. Poor sweetie. Clever boy too! But I agree it’s good for them to learn that they CAN’T always get something just cos they want it… it’s a hard lesson to learn though.

    November 18, 2008 at 9:32 am

  4. Ag, bless his little cotton socks!

    November 18, 2008 at 11:05 am

  5. auw shame man, that’s so clever of him.

    November 18, 2008 at 11:39 am

  6. Ag shame, Zandertjie … at least he has a little hope that he will get it. His mommy just has to work a little harder!!!

    November 18, 2008 at 2:25 pm

  7. OH I’ve so been there. Today, we drove past McDonalds, and Skippy asked (as usual) for chippies please mommy, at which point I also said I didn’t have enough money with me (total lie at the time, but honestly it was for groceries), but he turns around to me and says (pointing at the Standard Bank ATM), “But mommy, there’s a money station! Go get some!”

    November 18, 2008 at 4:12 pm

  8. Noid

    Ag shame. i also dont like not getting what i want….i also throw a tantrum…..

    November 18, 2008 at 9:33 pm

  9. Wenchy

    yes you do Noid. ha ha ha

    November 18, 2008 at 9:36 pm

  10. Eva

    I’m sorry, not that he couldn’t get the toy but that you feel so bad about it! It’s so wrong to suggest to kids that they could get all they want. Hey, he can ask Santa or get it for his birthday (if it’s still his favorite then)! I bet he has tons of similar toys at home, especially with two older brothers. Do you really want a kid who likes it better if you go to work instead of spending time with him???

    November 19, 2008 at 5:38 pm

  11. Eva, no but I DO want my child to be realistic enough to know that when you work you earn an income. That it doesn’t just fall out of the sky.
    My boys have no shortage of time with me

    November 19, 2008 at 7:33 pm

  12. mybloggylife

    What a little sweety. Those lessons are hard, sometimes.

    November 20, 2008 at 8:02 pm

  13. Totally agree with the lessons Mel. I don’t buy things in the store just because they want them (as much as I want to). But what I do however when I can buy what they want and wait until they do something really great and pull it out as a total surprise. That way they don’t expect it and they don’t have the expectation of getting something. I have also told Walker if you really want it and you want to work for it you can earn it by the end of the week. Lesson for young ones are never easy but it is time well spent. There are many out there that don’t spend the time up front to do the things you do and the spoiled children are the result of it.

    On another note when I had the same response for my son that I didn’t have the money on me at that time he replied, “well… just go to the bank and buy some then.” Ah the innocence of it all. If it were only that easy.

    November 21, 2008 at 2:59 am

Leave a Reply

