Super Mom

Is it really that big?

My dad has an interest in astrology and Jason shares his interest.  I love how my dad will phone to tell us when we can see something special.   Like tonight.  What a spectacular sight.  To see Jupiter and Venus so close to the moon.  From even before sunset you could see the three together.  The boys were most impressed by this. Enjoying the view from the pool.  Jay tried to capture it on his little point and shoot camera and was very disgusted that it didn’t come out nicely.  Poor little guy.

As I stared up at the sky, I realized how much bigger the moon seemed to be than the other two planets, even though it is actually way smaller. 

It happens in our lives that one thing seems so big, so powerful.  It could be work, exam, deadlines, marriage problems but when you stand back,  you’ll see that it’s just the way you are looking at it.  That in proportion, it really isn’t that important.  Not in the bigger picture.

2008_12_011-large

13 responses

  1. Wenchy

    Ons het ook gekyk en nadat jy vir Noid gese het wat om te doen met die kamera het ek ‘n paar fototjies geneem…… na hom. 🙂

    December 1, 2008 at 10:43 pm

  2. Ek is nou so bly dit het gewerk. 🙂

    December 1, 2008 at 10:48 pm

  3. Ons het ook die “specticle” geniet alhoewel dit ‘n bietjie onweer aan ons kant was. Ek het presies soos Jay gevoel oor my kamera!!! En al het jy ook vir my advies gegee so dit niks help nie … ek moet daaraan werk om myself ‘n baie goeie verjaarsdag geskenk te koop!!!

    Jou laaste paragraaf is presies wat ek vanaand moes lees … ek voel reeds bietjie knorig oor dinge wat dalk nie so groot is nie … maar no ja!!!

    December 1, 2008 at 11:12 pm

  4. Mel your photos are awesome. Thanks so much for taking them and sharing them. I was disappointed to have missed it. I also have an interest in astronomy.

    Your thoughts are also good food for thought and very true. We should all give that a think and see if our perspectives are a bit distorted…

    Have a wonderful day! 🙂

    December 2, 2008 at 8:27 am

  5. I also noticed this last night, we had a clear night. It reminded me of a Sci-fi movie I saw as a kid (can’t remember which one) where this guy get’s somehow transported to a parallel universe where there is another earth, and people on it who look just like the people on earth, but with different relationships between them (it’s like he woke up and no body knew who he was anymore) and then he only realises when he’s standing in a phone booth, and looks up into the night sky, and sees 3 moons instead of just the usual 1. He clicks. I think it might have been an epidsode of the twilight zone or something, but I have always remembered it – and last night when I looked outside I could hardly believe my eyes!!

    December 2, 2008 at 8:40 am

  6. Pingback: Greetings Fellow Earthlings | MacNessa.com

  7. Tara

    Yes, perspective is a magnificent thing.
    Your photos are awsome! Too bad I missed the event. 😥

    December 2, 2008 at 4:24 pm

  8. Neat pics. 🙂

    December 2, 2008 at 5:05 pm

  9. truth13

    I missed it, but your photos are awesome!

    December 2, 2008 at 5:25 pm

  10. Wenchy

    My hart is seer. Ek wens jy was hier.

    December 2, 2008 at 9:27 pm

  11. mybloggylife

    Justin and I were totally having this same conversation. The planets we see are Mercury and Venus. So cool to see them.

    December 3, 2008 at 4:10 am

  12. Im sorry i missed that, the photos are awesome though .

    December 5, 2008 at 3:09 pm

  13. perspective is indeed important… but its often very hard to step back and see it.

    December 5, 2008 at 10:35 pm

Leave a Reply

