Super Mom

Stay where you are

I do not think that I’ll ever be the same  Ever again.

Since the very first time I looked into those blue eyes of Jason, I felt that he was just given to me to take care of for a short time.  I have always convinced myself that it’s a ridiculous notion and that I must ignore that thought as much as possible.

Today I thought it was coming true.  That I was right.

Today, Jason was lost.  LOST.  Lost for over 15 minutes.  In a mall.  A MALL during peak holiday time.  With so many people that I cannot see past the person in front of me.  I ran to every single shop we went in to before.  We ran to look for him in the toilets.  Shops we have not been to.  We’ve asked shop owners if there is a central point where we can report him as missing.  No little boy of mine

I could. not. breath.  The tears were so close but I was holding them back because I needed to find my son. 

At first I wasn’t too worried, since the boys wear ID tags, with our telephone numbers on.  Then I realized that they took it off last night (which they are not allowed to do) and never put it back on.  That’s when my chest closed up and my legs felt like it was going to collapse beneath me.

Our friend was the one to find him.  In  tears he stood with a security guard.  He didn’t want Kolie to take him.  He had to give him Jason’s name, surname, age, parent’s names.  He walked with Kolie to us, where we had to fill in a form with our details.

I don’t think I have ever held him that tight.  I broke down and cried.  We hugged each other so tight that we became one.

On the way back home I realized just how easily I could have lost him.  That’s when I started feeling so guilty because I am the mom.  I am the one who must protect him, look after him and make sure he doesn’t get lost. He went back and looked for me when he noticed he wasn’t with us.  Where he last saw me. Not his dad or brothers.  But me.  I’m the one he trusts to be there and I was not.

Thank God my little boy is here.  With me.  Clinging to me.

18 responses

  1. Oh, my! How scary! I’m SO glad he’s back safely in your arms!

    December 27, 2008 at 3:08 pm

  2. Jennyklass

    Oh Melany, you must have felt horrible,i am sooooooo glad you got him back, safe and sound, the Gods are smiling on you,Hug your treasures for me ….

    December 27, 2008 at 4:18 pm

  3. So very scary! I’m always afraid of that happening. So very glad that you found him!

    December 27, 2008 at 5:36 pm

  4. Oh my goodness! So scarey, I’m glad it all worked out ok…

    December 27, 2008 at 7:34 pm

  5. I AM SO SORRY! I would have collapsed and buckled under the pressure. True to Supermom colors you stayed on top of things. You handled it like a pro. Great job.

    December 27, 2008 at 7:46 pm

  6. mybloggylife

    You didn’t let him down, Mel. You found him!
    Tank God.

    December 27, 2008 at 7:49 pm

  7. How absolutely frightening! You actually had me in tears reading that… it’s one of my worst nightmares.
    So VERY glad you found him unharmed, and kudos to the security guard for making sure he knew who you were before he let him go with you!

    December 27, 2008 at 8:24 pm

  8. Heather

    oh mel, that is sooo scary. Thank the Lord that he is safe.
    Well done to the mall security for looking after him.

    December 27, 2008 at 8:57 pm

  9. my3boysandi

    thank God

    its a scary feeling so pleased he had the sense to go to a security guard

    December 27, 2008 at 10:26 pm

  10. alisa

    What a scary story! That is my biggest fear with my girls. Give him a big hug from us.

    December 27, 2008 at 10:54 pm

  11. Gen

    Jeepers Mel, I can only imagine how you were feeling (have had that happen to Dylan). Don’t feel guilty – these things happen to the best of best parents. You found him and that is all that is important 🙂 Good on the security guard too!!!

    December 27, 2008 at 10:58 pm

  12. Wow, my nerves would have been so shot, as I’m sure yours were. I’m am so, so glad you found him!! I had such a nauseous feeling sweep me while I read this. Thank goodness J is so sensible, to have stuck with a security guard. Bless him.

    December 27, 2008 at 11:55 pm

  13. Calling Him Out

    Oh my! I’m so glad you found him! I could not imagine how that felt. I would not have been able to hold back the tears as long as you did.

    December 28, 2008 at 6:11 am

  14. Marié Archer

    My blood ran ICE cold in my veins when I read this. I know you must have gone through a terrible ordeal for those minutes that must have felt like hours. So Thankful he was found and safe 😦

    December 28, 2008 at 4:47 pm

  15. So sorry to hear what happened, but very elated that you found him … it could’ve been so different.

    I always get very histerical when my kids wander off or play hide-n-seek in the shopping malls. I feel a wave of panic that second I don’t see them around me. A pity they to big to push around a trolley all the time.

    Glad it was all OK after that, Mel!!! Enjoy the rest of your stay!!!

    December 28, 2008 at 7:14 pm

  16. The scariest feeling in the world in when you can’t find your little one, even for a second. I have had my own frantic moments with my daughter when she was little. Most memorable is when they had to lockdown a whole store because my dear daughter decided to hide from mommy in a clothes rack! Store empoyees were searching the stock room, the parking lot, calling her name over the intercom. We finally found her in the toy department, smiling and laughing like she had just pulled the biggest prank in the world. She was three. She still laughs about it 13 years later. Me, not so much.

    I am so glad that everything turned out alright. Blessing to you and yours.

    December 28, 2008 at 8:44 pm

  17. I lost my son when he was two. It was dark, and cold, and crowded. I just fell to my knees and prayed. We found him in 5 minutes… it felt like forever. My heart still skips a beat at the thought of it. Glad your son is safe… back in your arms. ~K

    December 29, 2008 at 8:34 am

  18. Oh Mel, so glad he is okay. It wasn’t so long ago I had to describe to the police what Walker was wearing that morning. It is indeed very scary. The best thing we can all do as moms is if we are not there give our children the knowledge and sense to help be safe. So glad everyone is okay.

    December 30, 2008 at 2:35 am

Leave a Reply

