Super Mom

Camping

Man, I am loving the experience of camping.  Not that I haven’t camped before … I have camped MANY a time but this is the first time that I’m camping in a caravan park for an extended period of time and normally my dad and I camped where there was nothing and no-one.  So this camping between other people is almost a new experience and I love it.

I love the vibe.  How coming back from the beach is the beginning of other fun things and not just going back to the flat and watching TV.  The kids are forever in the pool, playing pool or playing putt-putt.  They play cricket, monopoly…they are braaiing with the men.  They are loving the experience.  I don’t think we’ll easily go on holiday any other way.

The fun about it though, is all the other people lol  Tommie and I are back people-watchers.  We can sit in a coffee shop and watch other people for hours …. yes, we are not well.   Here in the caravan park it’s better!  You meet some people, hide from others.

We have two sets of lesbian couples.  Not a problem until uhm… the one experiences such pleasure that she just cannot keep it to herself!

OR when the ‘neighbours’ leave camp and leave their teenage daughter and her boyfriend behind but come back soon after since they forgot something and catch them in the act!

OR like the couple who physically attacked each other.  I think the husband looked way worse than the wife at the end of the fight.  (I still believe that there is never a reason to hit a wife)

Now I sit and wonder, what do the people think when they see our camp.  Here’s 1 woman, 5 kids and 2 men.  I was asked about this in a coffee shop and I just said it’s my ex and my husband and our children.

I think they may have been a tad confused.

11 responses

  1. my3boysandi

    LOL hope you really are having a nice time all joking aside

    December 29, 2008 at 11:07 pm

  2. I had such a good laugh reading this 😉 I’m sure people don’t think anything funny of your camp situation. Caravan holidays are like that, with unlikely groups of people. I should know, I went on enough of them! I LOVE people-watching in a caravan park. It is the best. Not so keen on the ablution blocks – hope yours are nice and clean.
    So glad you are having such a fabulous time.

    December 29, 2008 at 11:24 pm

  3. LOL that was entertaining and I love your come-back 😉

    December 29, 2008 at 11:28 pm

  4. The allusion blocks are SO nice!!! You hardly put your foot outside and it’s cleaned. There’s permanently staff that cleans

    December 30, 2008 at 7:54 am

  5. Marié Archer

    Sounds like you are all having a ball Melany I’m so glad you took this break.
    xxx

    December 30, 2008 at 8:01 am

  6. truth13

    LOL, my goodness! You have quite the entertainment going on for you.

    December 30, 2008 at 9:21 am

  7. Gen

    Well who needs to stay in a holiday apartment and watch t.v when you can go home to your caravan and watch your fellow campers in action…………….hehehehehehe. We also camped at the sea every year and I tell you the sights you see……………..hillarious!!!!!! Once there was a guy having an argument with his teenage son – on the beach in full view of everyone – got rather heated and I stood closer with my camera and took pics – well I tell you when they saw me doing that the argument stopped right there and then and they dissapeared. 🙂

    December 30, 2008 at 10:38 am

  8. I love camping too … just haven’t tried the beach + caravan combination. We always head for the bushveld with our caravan.

    Sounds like your fellow campers are giving you guys a lot to laugh about!!! Never had so much “drama” at a campsite like you have in the last couple of days!!! Did the fighting husband and wife pack up after their public performance?

    LOL … your story must have given people in the coffee shop something to “gossip” about for a while … I had a good laugh at it, though!!!

    Glad you having so much fun, Mel.

    December 31, 2008 at 12:58 pm

  9. What fun! All my very best to you and yours in 2009 Supermom!

    December 31, 2008 at 4:53 pm

  10. Happy New Year, Mel! Glad you’re having a great time on your vacation. As for me, I’ve never camped and with any luck, I never will! I have zero interest in sleeping outside with bugs or whatever else might be out there!

    December 31, 2008 at 6:40 pm

  11. LOL! That made me laugh. Glad to hear you are enjoying your vacation, a well deserved one, really.

    January 4, 2009 at 10:46 am

Leave a Reply

