Super Mom

Nurses

The good, the bad and the ugly.  Or those who think they own your child while in hospital and you are but an observer. 

Some of the nurses are brilliant.  They have respect for a sleeping child.  They are nice and accommodating.  Even letting his brothers in to say hallo.

Then you get the downright ugly who decides that after coming here for 6 year and never being stopped to bring in the brothers, that they might not even come in for 2.3 seconds.  *Yes I know kids aren’t normally allowed in children’s wards BUT like I say, it’s never been a problem before and even now not one of the other nurses had an issue with this*

THEN you get the bad ones.  URGH.  I had a nurse come to give Quintus medicine yesterday.  According to me he has not had that before and I wanted to know what it is and why he is getting it.  She almost made him drink it before answering me.  I have every right to know what she is giving my child!!!  She brought the file to show me that it was given to him the day before as well (while I was with the other two for a while).  Woo-pee-ding.  I still wanted to know what it was.  She had to go fetch the box to see what it is!!!  She didn’t even know!!!  It ended up being more antibiotics, so I let her give it to him.  I actually had to tell her that it’s antibiotics.  huh?  I must tell a nurse what it is?

Anyway…we will be going home tomorrow and I will not have to worry about that anymore.

 

Just for me to keep record:

When we came in his CRP levels were 102.4.  Normal is 0 – 10.  Now it is 73.3 (still high)

White blood count was 14.6.  Normal  is 4 – 11. Now it is 8.6 (normal)

9 responses

  1. There’s always at least one nurse that rubs me the wrong way (so far, touch wood, not at the hospital we go to now…) but at our old hospital, before we moved, there was one..man she drove me mad. I think nursing is a calling, like being a nun, or a priest, it takes a special kind of person. 95% of nurses that I have met, are worth their weight in gold. The other 5 % should NOT be allowed near people. Heck not even around animals, time to find another job, maybe as a tele-marketer!

    January 8, 2009 at 1:00 pm

  2. Gen

    Jeepers Mel, it is bad enough that your child is sick and then you still got to deal with that nonsense. I can tell you one thing though – As you have probably heard by now, we took Dylan to our local hospital for a check up (he fell of a horse) and it turned out that he had ruptured his spleen. We have recieved NOTHING but the BEST service from these people – WHAT A DIFFERENCE it makes…………The public hospital in Cooma is nicer and BETTER than our private hospital we used to use back home and not even mentioning the Canberra Hospital – First Class Treatment all the way!!!!!

    I am really glad you guy’s are going home tomorrow – at least then you will be able to take good care of Quintus. How is Jason doing?????

    January 8, 2009 at 1:45 pm

  3. I had a nurse like that when I had Peyton. I was in tears and told them she was not allowed in my room anymore and to assign a new nurse. I was asking her what they were giving me and why and she gave me attitude because she was the nurse and I was merely the patient. Just don’t let them get away with that. You are right though there are some wonderful people out there that are nurses and doctors and belong in those professions as I know they are not easy jobs. But if you don’t like people and especially children then get out of the hospitals!!!

    January 8, 2009 at 4:16 pm

  4. That’s ridiculous. I don’t know which I would be more upset about, a nurse having a problem with you asking, or a nurse not even knowing what she was administering. It’s scary to think that that is how serious mistakes can happen.

    January 8, 2009 at 4:35 pm

  5. my3boysandi

    my prayers are with you all
    I think nurses are alike the world over
    some are good and some are aweful
    pleased youll be home tomorrow

    January 9, 2009 at 12:31 am

  6. I hope Quintus was better enough to come home today. Hope everyone is feeling better!

    January 9, 2009 at 5:50 am

  7. Tara

    I’m shocked to read you and your kids are going through a rough time again. Mel, my thoughts and prayers are with you all. May things improve for you fast!

    January 9, 2009 at 3:13 pm

  8. I have had a few bad experiences with nurses … nogal during the births of both my children!!! And I remember having to take my daughter to a normal ward cos the ped ward was closed … after the first night we made a huge fuss and eventually she was the ONLY baby in the ped ward!!!

    January 9, 2009 at 7:34 pm

  9. oooh nurses, and some doctors, can drive me insane! their attitude that they are the ones educated and doing their job seems to skim right over the fact that they’re holding someone’s life in their hands and we have rights!
    good on you for putting your foot down mel!

    January 16, 2009 at 8:25 am

Leave a Reply

