Super Mom

“Foster” parent I am

Remember this little girl?  I have spoken to her mom during the school holidays.  I explained that I want to do what I can, to help her keep her daughter.  I feel that a child should be with her parent as long as there is no abuse.  No abuse here as far as I could see. 

I did offer to help her if she needed someone to take care of her daughter while she is working.  She did and tonight K is sleeping here for the first time.

k

It’s sad how she didn’t even know me and was more than happy to go with me.  How she asked if she could stay for three nights (instead of just tonight) just minutes after we got home.  Really sad how she has had two plates of food and then asked if she could have again just before bedtime.

She is so sweet though.  She has good manners.  I can like a child who says ‘please’ and ‘thank you’.  She has been playing with Zander since she got here.  She talks … a lot.  As in more than me and Jason 🙂  She is also still not asleep even though it’s after 10 pm.

I have a feeling she will come here more often than just this weekend but we’ll take it one day at a time.

18 responses

  1. Hope she goes to sleep soon. She obviously doesn’t have routine in her life. Poor kid 😦
    It’s so cool that she’s got comfortable in your home so quickly!

    January 16, 2009 at 10:29 pm

  2. Wow. What a wonderful gift for both her and her mom.

    January 16, 2009 at 11:34 pm

  3. my3boysandi

    bless you Mel

    January 17, 2009 at 5:45 am

  4. Gosh, ag moeder. Die arme dingetjie. So glad to know she’s getting some real ‘family’ time.

    I just recently found out that my parents did the same thing, before I was born. There was a little girl who stayed with us (well my mom/dad/brother) for nearly 6 months (aged 8) because her parents were alcoholics, who eventually died. She then went to live with her grandmother in Canada. My mom says that some years ago, she contacted her (the girl, now grown up with her own kids) and thanked her, and told her how much it had meant to her to have a ‘normal’ environment.

    So it just goes to show – the things you do now will help this girl forever. Well done you. (HUG)

    January 17, 2009 at 8:49 am

  5. I was trying to say she was aged 8 but that smiley came up instead…bizarre!

    January 17, 2009 at 8:50 am

  6. Marié Archer

    Shame I wonder what her life is really like being tossed from one to another. Glad you could do this for her Melany

    xxxx

    January 17, 2009 at 9:19 am

  7. Is there a link to this little girls story?? It sounds EXACTLY like what I deal with when kids are over here. Being that she wants to be with you for 3 days instead of one within a few minutes of being at your house shows me there’s some attachment disorder.. I’m just wondering what the background is…

    January 17, 2009 at 4:28 pm

  8. LK

    Sing her a lullaby.

    January 17, 2009 at 5:21 pm

  9. Excellent, so glad you are able to help.

    January 17, 2009 at 7:44 pm

  10. You are understanding what I face daily… It is SO hard to see this little girl struggling and to have the mom approach you like that.. All I can say Mel is Please please please get this legal!!!!!!! For the safety of your boys, your husband and your houseand business!!!! Unfortunately – adults aren’t always nice and they can seem so genuine in the beginning and then – wham – all the sudden you’ll find yourself in a lawsuit that one of your boys did something to her or the mom might find out that you have nice things and she’s going to go after them. Unfortunately – addicts don’t care if they use their children as pawns….. Being that I haven’t met the mom – I can’t say for sure but don’t put your current life at risk. If the mom is serious about you guys helping with the daughter – talk to a lawyer and have papers written up – not giving you custody or anything but protecting your family. A lawyer will know how to write it up. If mom is willing to sign it – you know she’s genuine. If she’s not – she’s probably using her daughter as a pawn and needs to have her taken away. This is of course sounds pretty judgemental -but – I work in this every day.. I just want to make sure you are careful! Those of us with big hearts – get trampled on every day!!!!

    January 17, 2009 at 8:07 pm

  11. truth13

    So glad you can be such a blessing to this little girl. Girls are different than boys, in case you haven’t noticed, lol.

    January 17, 2009 at 8:45 pm

  12. Wenchy

    Het sy toe meer as een aand gebly? How is the eye?

    January 18, 2009 at 9:29 am

  13. Bless your big heart, Mel!!!

    January 18, 2009 at 3:23 pm

  14. Charles

    Good on you and your family for this selfless act. If more people cared and acted upon their cares the world would be a much better place.

    January 18, 2009 at 7:00 pm

  15. Wow… it must just break your heart but be glad that you are there to help.

    January 18, 2009 at 7:28 pm

  16. Wow Mel, well done. I hope the night went well. Good on you for helping out.

    January 18, 2009 at 10:21 pm

  17. You did the right thing – but then again, you ALWAYS do. 🙂
    xxx

    January 19, 2009 at 6:19 am

  18. You’re a good person, the best. Good luck, and I hope your eye feels better soon!

    January 19, 2009 at 3:42 pm

Leave a Reply

