Super Mom

Brown paper bag

“I want to put a paper bag over my head”

 

“But how will you then be able to support to Fallon?”

 

“I will make a hole for my eyes, nose and mouth”

 

This is part of the conversation I had with Quintus tonight.  Quintus has always taken part in the school athletics.  The interhouse athletics.  He is not the fastest one but as with any sport, he puts his all into it.  He has always run for the A team as well (there’s and A and B)

 

This morning though, he didn’t even make it into the B team.  For the very first time he will be at the interhouse athletics and not take part.  My heart is so sore for him.  There is an obvious reason for that.  He only got out of hospital 10 days ago!!!  He was diagnosed with an illness that will affect him for 6 weeks.  Yet, it’s not easy to get an 8 year old to accept

that.  To accept that he didn’t make it into the team.   To accept that he

will be sitting on the sideline and not take part.

 

On the up side, he will be able to support his ‘girlfriend’ now.  We can wait for her at the finish line, with a Powerade in hand.

 

He did find it very funny when I said, next time he should not french kiss a tick!!!

 

Jason on the other hand doesn’t even know if he is running and if he is, in what team lol  Oh how my kids differ!

6 responses

  1. Poor old Quintus. He has really been in the wars this past while.

    January 19, 2009 at 10:14 pm

  2. adventurized

    I am impressed by your Blog, Keep on doing what your doing. I added you to My blog Roll. Check my blog out let me know what you think.

    Adventurized.wordpress.com

    January 20, 2009 at 4:08 am

  3. mybloggylife

    Poor Q. I hope he gets to enjoy things all the same.

    January 20, 2009 at 4:24 am

  4. Wenchy

    Victoria is thrilled she came 5th in the swimming because last year she couldn’t swim well enough to even participate. Liam being Liam is always chosen for the swimming team… promptly declined saying he doesn’t feel for getting wet.

    January 20, 2009 at 12:05 pm

  5. Gen

    Hey Mel, came in to comment on your post and it is now protected – Will mail you what I was going to say!!

    Hugs to you and the boys

    Gen

    January 21, 2009 at 9:43 am

  6. aw shame, i’m sorry he didn’t qualify this year… but next year all will be back to normal again!
    😀

    January 23, 2009 at 8:00 am

Leave a Reply

