Super Mom

Kayla

My mom and I sat down with Kayla’s mom over a cup of coffee this morning.  I needed clarification as to exactly what the situation is, why she cannot have Kayla home over weekends and why Kayla is not in Grade R.

Basically it’s her hours.  As I have said before.  She starts working at 06h30 in the mornings and only gets home at 15h00.  She has no-one to take care of Kayla during that time.   So she’ll stay with us on weekends.

As to the Grade R.  She can’t get a subsidy for Grade R, since it’s not compulsory (although it will be soon).  I feel strongly that she needs to do Grade R and my amazing parents have offered to help out with the school fees.

I will pick up Kayla every morning and take her to a different school than my boys.  She lives way too far to go to the same school as them.  Her mom will pick her up in the afternoons.  Boy am I ever going to be putting KM’s on my car now!  Tommie does not want me to do drop her off at school in the mornings.  This is one thing that bothers me too, as I do travel a lot as it is.  However, I don’t see any other option at the moment.

img_5295-small

9 responses

  1. Gen

    oh wow – what a difference you have already made to this little girls life – She is such a cutie!!!!! Your Mum and Dad are so sweet to help out with the school fees Mel……:-)

    January 28, 2009 at 9:56 pm

  2. Your parents are fabulous, you know that!!
    You’re making such a huge difference in this little one’s life, well done!

    January 28, 2009 at 9:59 pm

  3. Hats off to you to be willing to do even more driving around that you do already. I think it’s fab. Her going to grade R has the potential to change her whole life! And at least she gets some normalcy over weekends. I think you are a special angel that was sent to cross paths with this little girl. And Mom and Dad, too, for helping out with school fees.

    January 28, 2009 at 10:45 pm

  4. Kimberly

    Melany, you & your parents are doing an amazing thing for this little girl. Kudos to you all. This is something she won’t ever forget.

    I wish I was close by so that I could give you a hug in real life. You are an amazing woman.

    January 29, 2009 at 3:16 am

  5. May God bless your efforts, Mel and that of your parents, too!!!

    January 29, 2009 at 11:16 am

  6. Jennyklass

    Like i said, one of the special people in the world, i take my hat off to you Melany.

    January 29, 2009 at 11:56 am

  7. Wow Melany, you are like an angel sent to this sweet little girl.
    You are an amazing person. Truly amazing.

    January 30, 2009 at 5:53 am

  8. wow mel… thats truly huge!

    January 30, 2009 at 9:34 am

  9. Alison

    Hi… just want to tell you that I think you are a wonderful person – you seem to put up with allot and are always so forgiving. Your kids are beautiful, and so are you. Love the light and dark of your blog. Excellent reading – always feel relaxed when I visit here. Keep on the good work!!!

    February 27, 2009 at 10:56 pm

Leave a Reply

