Super Mom

ER

“Mom!!!!  Kyla is bleeding!!!”

She wasn’t bleeding….blood was gushing out of her forehead.  I tried to get a good luck and then for a split second wish I did not.  She had a gaping hole right next to her eye.  I mean I could easily push my finger in there.  HOLE.

I got all the kids (and Quintus’ girlfriend) into the car, while helping Kyla to the car as well.  I rushed away from home so quickly that I didn’t even have time to lock the doors. 

Hazards on, driving towards the hospital, I was so thankful that we live a mere 3 km from there!

As I understand it, Quintus was going to hit a golf ball…had warned everyone to move away and Kyla didn’t move far enough.

You have no idea the way I felt.   I was so  stressed that I could barely write.  It was decided that they would try and close the hole in ER.  I (and my parents) were more than willing to pay for her to get surgery but the doctor was convinced that he could do the same job in ER.

She was such a strong little girl.  She was given drops for pain that also made her very tired, so that helped but she kept still for all that time it took to repair the wound.  Poor girl even told me to please tell Quintus she is sorry and that once her eye is repaired she will tell him herself. 

Jason was hysterical.  Hysterical.  I couldn’t calm him down.  Quintus was freaked out.  Completely freaked out.  I could see that he didn’t know how to handle what had happened. 

It took me an hour to get medication for her and then she fell asleep before I could even give it to her.  I’m sure she’ll wake up during the night though. 

I feel SO bad.  So bad.

I’ve included a photo of her sleeping now but do warn that it looks very sore.  (and is)

14022009510

24 responses

  1. OMG she’s so lucky that it wasn’t in her eye!
    Hope she feels better soon

    February 14, 2009 at 10:30 pm

  2. OMG that looks so eina!! Hope she heals really quickly!

    February 14, 2009 at 11:20 pm

  3. Kimberly

    Poor thing! I hope that she heals quickly!

    February 15, 2009 at 12:17 am

  4. FV

    Awww Mel. Poor kid. I hope she is ok and heals fast. I am so sorry. You are such a good woman.

    February 15, 2009 at 2:09 am

  5. my3boysandi

    OUCH!!!
    and oh so brave

    I cracked my head open when I was a girl
    I had been going to fast on my sisters scooter and fell off onto the concrete front steps
    I screamed the surgery down when I got my stitches
    I did have pain meds but I still screamed the place down

    accidents happen Mel dont blame yourself or let Quintus blame himself either

    February 15, 2009 at 2:52 am

  6. mybloggylife

    Oh, yikes!!! I hope that she heals quickly and well, and I’m sure she will. Accidents happen to kids, a lot, as I’ve experienced. Feel peace about it.
    Thinking of you all…

    February 15, 2009 at 3:45 am

  7. OH MY GOODNESS.
    How terrifying for you. You handled yourself much better than I would have!
    Hoping she heals fast & the pain has subsided.
    Hugs

    February 15, 2009 at 6:03 am

  8. Marié Archer

    Oh the poor girl she is so sweet Melany. I can imagine how scared you were I got such a fright when you phoned me.

    Hope she feels so much better today

    xxxx

    February 15, 2009 at 7:47 am

  9. truth13

    Ouch! That looks extremely painful. Sounds like it was traumatic for everyone. Hope everyone gets a good nights sleep.

    February 15, 2009 at 8:26 am

  10. Your poor girl, that looks painful. I hope she is recovering well

    February 15, 2009 at 11:02 am

  11. OMW what a scary accident. It must have been hectic and scary for everyone. I hope she is feeling ok today. It will probably be sore for a while. Shame man…

    February 15, 2009 at 12:47 pm

  12. Gen

    Hey Mel, How is Kayla doing today – Was horrified to see what happened – Luckily we know accidents happen all the time and Q must not feel bad and neither should you although I know it is easier said than done! Take care Cuzz

    February 15, 2009 at 1:30 pm

  13. Hello there, poor soul – I hope she feels better soon.

    February 15, 2009 at 6:36 pm

  14. OMW – ouch, eina. Wishing Kayla a fast recovery

    Accidents do happen, go easy on yourself and tell Q that he mustn’t blame himself. Use the incident in a positive way – How quickly and inocently accidents can happen, at any time or situation. It’s a stroke (pun intended) of luck that Kayla’s eye wasn’t hit directly.

    Can’t live in cotton wool.

    Boys will learn to be more gentle/softer, especially when Kayla is around.

    Hugs to you all.

    BTW – where was Tommie when all this happened? Playing Golf????

    February 15, 2009 at 9:48 pm

  15. Poor thing! As bad as it looks, it could have been much worse if it had gone straight into her eye. I hope she heals quickly

    February 15, 2009 at 10:48 pm

  16. Wenchy

    xxx

    February 16, 2009 at 9:22 am

  17. QB

    hugs and kisses to Kayla. Hope she feels better soon

    February 16, 2009 at 9:22 am

  18. Joanne E

    Brave girl! And yes, Quintus has nothing to feel bad about. Accidents just happen.

    February 16, 2009 at 9:23 am

  19. Sarah

    Hugs to you Melany. Accidents happen. Luckily it happened while she was in your care -you made sure that she was tended to very quickly.

    I hope she feels much better today.

    February 16, 2009 at 9:27 am

  20. Poowa girl! Stop beating yourself up. I can understand that you are mortified, but it was an accident and it could have happened to anyone. *hugs*

    February 16, 2009 at 10:43 am

  21. Looks sooo painful to me!! I hope she’s alright. Poor little girl.

    February 16, 2009 at 12:31 pm

  22. Wenchy

    I am not doing so good in the night…. i wish you were here

    February 16, 2009 at 8:29 pm

  23. Oh man, that is so terrible. I hope she is feeling some better now.

    February 20, 2009 at 5:20 am

  24. aw poor baby. is she feeling better?

    February 22, 2009 at 8:24 pm

Leave a Reply

