Super Mom

10 %

Fourty years ago my parents got married.  Fourty years ago.  That’s many years.  Many nights.  Many days.  Many children.  Many fights.  Much laughter.

They truly are an inspiration…..or one should feel sorry for them for not giving up! 

IMG_5867 (Small) IMG_5853 (Small)

My mom asked my dad to give her a percentage of happy / not-so-happy years.  My dad says he’s been happy 90 % of the time.

I asked Tommie (Ek meen ek moet mos nou weet) and my dad warned him not to say anything (see he learned something in those 40 years!)

So happy anniversary Mom and Dad.  You guys are amazing.

10 responses

  1. Every time I see pictures of your Mom and the time I met her, i am gob smacked that she looks so young – about 40, definitely in the gene’s you look about 25 or 26 and your Dad has a youthful look also, except for the grey hair (sorry Mr Archer).

    Congradulations Mr & Mrs Archer. As Mel said, you are an inspiration. Wishing you many, many, many more!

    February 26, 2009 at 9:41 pm

  2. my3boysandi

    CONGRATULATIONS to your mom and dad

    February 26, 2009 at 10:03 pm

  3. jenty

    Congrats to your mom and dad

    February 26, 2009 at 10:50 pm

  4. Wenchy

    I told Mom yesterday that I am already too old to achieve the success of 40 years of marriage and …. small problem… I’m not married! 🙂

    Congrats Mom and Dad!

    February 27, 2009 at 8:00 am

  5. Your parents always look so happy, vibrant and young at heart. They are an inspiration indeed. Happy Anniversary Mel’s mom & dad!

    February 27, 2009 at 11:32 am

  6. Marié Archer

    Thank you so much Mel you kids were a big part of what made it work.

    Thanks Sandi, Christel and Jane

    xxxxx

    February 27, 2009 at 12:01 pm

  7. Congrats – that is AMAZING!!!

    February 27, 2009 at 12:48 pm

  8. Addie

    Congratulations to your mom and dad, Mel!!! By the look of those photos, they’ll easily make the next forty years. too.

    Goei mielies!!!

    February 27, 2009 at 9:47 pm

  9. happy anniversary supermom’s parents!

    February 28, 2009 at 9:36 am

  10. FORTY years is a feat! Amazing! I wish I could have as many years…

    Happy anniversary to your mom and dad, Mel. Your dad is so sweet and honest to answer that he is 90% happy with his marriage!

    March 2, 2009 at 2:06 pm

Leave a Reply

