Super Mom

It’s complicated

As we left a restaurant this morning, another mother stopped me.  
She wanted to know if they were all mine, at the same time telling me that they are so well behaved.  (So glad she caught them on a good day!)

I hesitated for a moment.  Not sure how to answer that.  Do I say no?  The boys are but  I share ‘unofficial shared custody’ with the little girl’s mom?  Which makes her my ‘some times’ foster child? Do I even try to explain that?

I the easy way out.  Just said yes.  Sometimes that is just easier.  But it’s so much more complicated than that.

IMG_6110 (Medium)

16 responses

  1. Kimberly

    I love this pic!!

    BTW, that is a tough question, but I really thing you answered perfectly. 🙂

    You are an amazing woman.

    March 1, 2009 at 8:06 pm

  2. I would have said Yes too 🙂 Love the pic 🙂

    March 1, 2009 at 9:05 pm

  3. jenty

    I would’ve said the same. What a lovely photo!

    March 1, 2009 at 9:58 pm

  4. What a sweet picture!

    March 1, 2009 at 11:38 pm

  5. Calling Him Out

    Such a happy bunch! The little girl truly looks happy! I think you are doing a wonderful thing being a “foster” family to her! Keep up the great mommy work!

    March 2, 2009 at 3:12 am

  6. my3boysandi

    i would have yes too
    I wouldnt have expected to have been asked actually
    my sister has a large family with 8 living children
    i would expect people to ask her but you only have 3 plus 1 it really isnt a big family to me

    March 2, 2009 at 6:00 am

  7. sarah

    I think if it was up to Kyla she would have answered ‘yes’ so you answered with the right answer 🙂

    March 2, 2009 at 8:41 am

  8. Yes was definitely the best answer!

    March 2, 2009 at 9:54 am

  9. You look like a real family to her anyway so I think your answer is great. She’s lucky to have you as her mom (even foster).

    March 2, 2009 at 2:04 pm

  10. Wenchy

    We get this question often, having so many kids… I always just say yes ’cause it’s easier to explain and I do love all of them.

    March 2, 2009 at 3:56 pm

  11. There’s never any easy answer with kids.

    March 2, 2009 at 10:34 pm

  12. Aww! I had no idea! It’s wonderful that you’re doing that!

    March 3, 2009 at 12:14 am

  13. Ah, I would have done the same thing. And I’ll bet there was one little girl who was very delighted.

    March 3, 2009 at 2:41 am

  14. raveshnee

    Mel, in no way do I mean to be offensive when I say this…Your family looks so complete with little Kayla next to you. I love it.

    March 3, 2009 at 10:19 am

  15. Gen

    She is very lucky to have you as a “mom”! If I was in your shoes I would also have said yes without even thinking!!

    March 3, 2009 at 12:29 pm

  16. i know what you mean. i’ve told glugs its okay to just say “yes” or nod when someone talks about his son, rather than trying to explain.
    😀

    March 6, 2009 at 7:25 am

Leave a Reply

