Super Mom

Voters coffee

Today was Elections Day in our country.

I lost my ID document about 3 years ago and just never bothered to get a new one.   I have a certified copy of that one, so I’ve been getting along fine without it.  To vote however, you need a proper bar-coded ID.

With tax season that’s been way too hectic, I never got around to getting a new ID book.  After tax season, I knew there was not enough time for me to apply for my ID book and then actually get it in time to vote, so I didn’t bother either.

I felt SO bad though.  SO bad.  One has to vote.  Yesterday afternoon, just before Quintus’ rugby match, I heard that you could vote with a temporary ID!!!  (Thanks so much Radio OFM for letting the general public know!)

I didn’t even stop to congratulate Quintus’ team on their amazing win.  When that final whistle blew I ran to the car.  I made it to the Department of Home Affairs just in time.

I had THE MOST horrible photos taken for my ID book (imagine someone who hasn’t slept, who has horrible flu and was standing outside in howling wind next to a rugby field) BUT I got my temporary ID.

This morning, together with all other proper South Africans, I stood in the cold to vote and get that horrible black ink that runs all along my fingernail

22042009686 copy

I also took Wimpy up on their offer to give every South African who voted a free cup of coffee.

22042009689

What I wouldn’t do for Wimpy coffee

10 responses

  1. What – free coffee at Wimpy????

    Darn and I just voted because I thought it was proper.

    My nail stain looks like I ‘klapped’ my finger and bruised it black. But I wear it proudly.

    Please God, Please don’t let it be an ANC government.

    Enjoy Klein-Kariba.

    Hope Zander is better. Jess was 5 days sick last week with viral infaction and did the temp and up chuck thing also. Sympathies.

    April 22, 2009 at 10:57 pm

  2. There might not be another election in Philippines. our president pushes the congress to change our constitution . god, we hate her- (the president of the philippines is a she- as in a she-wolf- you know a female dog).

    April 23, 2009 at 9:16 am

  3. I feel the same about my voter’s ID photo. I registered at the last minute so I had to fall in line with a gozzilion of other people like me under the heat of the sun. i looked like a monster.

    April 23, 2009 at 9:21 am

  4. Jaxie

    They didn’t mess around with the ink on your finger. LOL. you can hardly see mine – in fact, it looks like i didn’t vote.

    It took me 5 minutes to vote though – thanks to “Paxie” and my ever growing belly.

    April 23, 2009 at 10:54 am

  5. Dominique

    Hi, I have been lurking for a while and I enjoy reading your blog. The good thing is at least you made the effort to vote! I am from Cape Town and now we all have to wait for the results. Zuma will be our next president, hope he will step up to the plate though. Keep up the great blog.

    April 23, 2009 at 11:56 am

  6. It’s fun to me to read about when you go to Wimpy. It’s like my Bic’s.

    April 23, 2009 at 1:02 pm

  7. Jennyklass

    Missed the coffee , but did my bit, hope my vote made a difference……. my spot of ink is very small, they definitly went to town on yours Mel…….

    April 23, 2009 at 5:20 pm

  8. Good job on getting your vote in. We don’t get a lot of South Africa news over hear, but I did hear a long piece on Jacob Zuma yesterday.

    April 23, 2009 at 6:27 pm

  9. My ink “spot” also ran all along my thumb nail!!!
    So glad you got to vote after all.

    April 23, 2009 at 8:43 pm

  10. Wenchy

    ha ha. I knew you only did it for the coffee.

    April 26, 2009 at 8:09 am

Leave a Reply

