Super Mom

Out of my bed

I have no more little child in my bed  :)   😦

Yes, I feel like that.  Bitter sweet. 

I have co-slept with all three boys.  Something that I’m hugely thankful for.  There is nothing like waking up with your little one next to you.  Those are times I will never get back.  Nights when my arm is what they hold on to fall asleep….not a teddy or a blanket.  ME.  I’m what they needed to fall asleep.

Two weeks ago, Zander just moved over onto his own bed all by himself.  We were still up and in the TV room, when he said that he is going to bed.  We walked into our room to find him sleeping in his single bed, in our room.  That’s it.  We never had to ask him, do sleep-training with him.  He just moved out by himself.  When he felt emotionally ready to do so.

I thought that going camping and sharing a bed with us in the caravan would put him back into our bed at home but nope.  My baby boy is no longer sharing our bed.

Big boy he is now 🙂

IMG_8124 (Medium)

 

8 responses

  1. mybloggylife

    Oh, man. What a big boy! I miss my kids in my bed, too. Soon enough there will be another, though 😉

    April 29, 2009 at 5:54 am

  2. Ash

    I still miss my kids in my bed. I was heartbroken when my ex told me Joe had to move out of my bed and I am still angry with him about it. Joe was four at the time so it was probably time but still – I’d still have him in bed with me now and he’s almost 7.

    April 29, 2009 at 8:35 am

  3. Rav

    Awwww Mel, you have the nicest boys ever. You have a way of expressing the way things happen in your home…reading about it allows one the feeling of having been there and shared the experince itself. Thanks for sharing Zander’s becoming a big boy with us. Gotta love him for being such a cutie pie.

    Rav

    April 29, 2009 at 8:51 am

  4. Jennyklass

    Time for another one Mel ??

    April 29, 2009 at 3:47 pm

  5. If you could, would you and Tommie have another. I recall the blog, yonks ago about Tommie having the snip and how that made you feel and mourning not having a daughter, but now you have Kayla – kind of.

    But to the co-sleeping. My Hubby doesn’t support it, but when he is away, often Jess (3) and sometimes Jade (13) will come crawl in during the night. It’s precious.

    Zander sure is growing up. It is a tribute to your phenominal parenting skills that he was secure and confidant to go to his own bed all on his own. WTG!

    April 29, 2009 at 7:34 pm

  6. Awww… even though we moan, I’ll be sad when Connor stops sleeping with us

    April 29, 2009 at 10:19 pm

  7. Mom Archer

    They do grow up so fast.. a person wishes you can keep them small for longer.

    xxxx

    April 30, 2009 at 9:00 am

  8. I don’t think I could co-sleep… I didn’t mind the knucklehead crawling into my bed if he had a nightmare or something, but he had his own bed from the time he came home from the hospital.

    May 7, 2009 at 9:39 pm

Leave a Reply

