Super Mom

Get away with murder

I had tears in my eyes as I read the letter.

He has lost his freedom.  Sitting next to the river.  Watching out over a mountain.  Hearing the waves break on the beach.

He has lost his twin daughters.  He has lost everything.  Not his life.

He didn’t murder anyone.  He didn’t rape anyone.  He didn’t abuse or high-jack.

He evaded tax.  He stole from the state.   He changed his books so that he didn’t have to pay tax.  He had a small business, so we aren’t talking millions here either.

Was it wrong?  HELL YES!  Was it bad enough for him to sit 15 years?  FIFTEEN YEARS!? I don’t know about that.

In another jail sits another man.  A murderer.  He took someone’s life.  Something he could never repay.  By murdering another human, not only did he murder and destroy so many lives but he too stole from the state since the victim would most probably have been a tax payer.

He got 5 years.  FIVE.

How is that right?  How is that fair?

7 responses

  1. Mom Archer

    Our country’s values is so stuffed up. It is really sad. I feel for this guy and everyone else out there who are also treated this way

    April 30, 2009 at 9:48 am

  2. That’s not fair. That is so wrong that I can’t even wrap my head around it.

    April 30, 2009 at 2:01 pm

  3. That is so backwards, it makes my stomach turn.

    So sad.

    April 30, 2009 at 3:53 pm

  4. so unfair!

    May 1, 2009 at 10:55 pm

  5. Anito

    What is wrong is wrong. No matter what.

    May 2, 2009 at 10:34 am

    • Anito

      I thought about what I said. Yeah, I think it was unfair and even scary. If for example I had a person imprisoned for killing my mother, I have to ready myself of retribution five years after. Unlike with life sentences for murder, five years of imprisonment is just too scary.

      May 4, 2009 at 6:55 am

  6. I want to vomit on our legal system when child rapists are given supended sentences, or considered safe to return to the community.
    It’s all about who you are, how sophisticated (rich), and your ability to lie about stuff. Hate those depressing stories.

    May 2, 2009 at 1:11 pm

Leave a Reply

