Super Mom

I’m not going to write much about my amazing son who is turning 9 today.  The son who first turned me into a mother.  First one to call me “Mamma’”.

Today he is nine.  Nine more years and he is 18.  Nine more years before he will leave our home to hopefully go to ‘varsity and not become a doctor or an accountant or to become a professional rugby player.

I love this child more than is humanly possible.  My very own Dennis the Menace.

Here is how he has changed in the past 9 years.  All photos taken on his birthday every year.

q21

My newborn baby boy. My son.

vuil-gesig

Dirty little one year old

A very sick 2 year old.  He was admitted to hospital on his birthday

A very sick 2 year old. He was admitted to hospital on his birthday

ek-is-drie

Clearly three

165-reg-vir-kerk

And then he was four

2005_05040311

Very handsome 5 year old

My blue-eyed 6 year old

My blue-eyed 6 year old

After school on his 7th birthday

After school on his 7th birthday

My happy 8 year old

My happy 8 year old

Blowing out 9 candles.

Blowing out 9 candles.

Wow.  Today he is nine.

18 responses

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY QUINTUS!!!!

    May 4, 2009 at 2:35 pm

  2. Kim

    Happy b-day to Quintus!! He has grown into such a handsome young man. You are such a wonderful Mother to your boys, Melany. Truly someone I admire & look up to.

    May 4, 2009 at 4:58 pm

  3. Jennyklass

    Happy Birthday Big Boy !!!!!

    May 4, 2009 at 7:04 pm

  4. Moaning Myrtle

    Happy birthday to Quintus

    May 4, 2009 at 9:31 pm

  5. Happy Birthday! You have done extremely well Mom 🙂

    May 4, 2009 at 9:47 pm

  6. Maggs

    What a journey! Happy birthday to my favourite 9 year old 🙂 Loved the photo’s so much.Your boys are a pleasure to be around, Mel. Well done.

    May 4, 2009 at 11:03 pm

  7. Tara

    Happy Birthday to Quintus!
    He looks like a heartbreaker at all ages. 😉
    Good job, Mom!

    May 5, 2009 at 2:09 am

  8. Happy birthday, Quintus! Isn’t it amazing our May babies are turning 9?!

    May 5, 2009 at 3:39 am

  9. my3boysandi

    A very happy birthday Quintus

    one more year and youll be a double digit 🙂

    May 5, 2009 at 4:09 am

  10. mybloggylife

    Wow is right. What a handsome young man. How time flies, Happy Birthday Q!

    May 5, 2009 at 5:47 am

  11. Happy birthday Quintus! May you have many, many more birthdays to come!

    Mel, I love the idea of posting one photos for each birthday!

    May 5, 2009 at 10:39 am

  12. HAPPY BIRTHDAY QUINTUS!!!

    May 5, 2009 at 12:59 pm

  13. Dominique

    Lovely photos of Quintus on his every birthday!

    May 5, 2009 at 10:17 pm

  14. Most of the memorable moments I had in college was inside the delivery room. And thinking how much a woman sacrifices in every pregnancy and childbirth which continue to the whole extent of motherhood… you must’ve been so happy.

    PS Happy birthday to your son. Soon, in a couple of years he’ll be chasing girls around. Hmmm… That’s something to look forward too. hehe 🙂

    May 6, 2009 at 9:09 am

  15. Isn’t nine just sooooo big! My new nine year old just looked over my shoulder and asked “Who is that?” I told him it was a boy that was born close to the same time he was, just on the other side of the world. He said “They have Spiderman in South Africa?” I told him that the world isn’t really as big as you think.

    May 6, 2009 at 1:10 pm

  16. This is a fabulous series of pictures! Congratulations!

    May 7, 2009 at 9:08 pm

  17. happy birthday!!!

    pacer521
    http://politicsdecoded.com

    May 8, 2009 at 12:20 am

  18. Mom Archer

    I just loved going down memory lane with these photo’s Melany. Thank you for posting them for us all to see. Quintus you are growing into such a wonderful little boy. Ouma is so very proud of you.

    I love you so much

    xxxxx

    May 12, 2009 at 7:25 pm

Leave a Reply

