Super Mom

Now I just feel bad

I have never handed over a client for debt collection before.  If they don’t pay, I’d rather write it off.  I don’t like confrontation.  I’d send out accounts.  I’ll phone.  I’ll send a sms.  Then I’ll write it off.

However (my one client says I always have an “however”) I decided enough is enough with this one specific client and I handed him over.

I’ve been getting some money here and there from the lawyer, so I was quite happy thinking that they must have come to some kind of agreement.

Then this morning Tommie phones:

“I see Archer Tax Services is in the newspaper this morning.”

Thinking that it must be because we sponsored rugby jerseys for the school, it will be about that.

“It says that you sued M….D..O and the bailiff have now laid claim on a couch and fridge”

WHAT?!  Thanks for making ME feel bad.

I’m picturing the kids sitting on the floor now.  Food standing on the counter, no longer in the fridge.

I feel bad.

Linda walks into my office:

“No don’t go out and buy them a second-hand fridge!”

Man she knows me well….I feel so bad.  Even though I know I should not.

10 responses

  1. I would feel exactly the way you do 😦 But chances are you werent the only people they owed money too hun. Try not beat yourself up about it ((hugs))

    May 14, 2009 at 11:30 pm

  2. Wenchy

    No fridge for them. You did the work, they must pay you.

    May 15, 2009 at 7:29 am

  3. Aw Mel, the world could do with more people like you I think- but you can’t carry everyone. You have got to look out for #1.

    May 15, 2009 at 7:31 am

  4. MNDAN

    Ja nee, mens is nie’n bank nie. Ek soek jou prokureur se naam. Ons prokureuers hier kry NIKS reg nie, jy betaal hulle net en hulle kry geen gelde in nie. GEEN! Ons maak nou maar kriminele sake oop by die polise vir swak skuld, kry nie geld terug nie maar hulle is dan op rekord.

    May 15, 2009 at 7:57 am

  5. Joanne E

    And how do you know they plead poverty etc but go eat at Wimpy etc each day? Hard as it is, he made a commitment to you knowing what it involved, you have a family to feed, etc – if you had a really small business and were desperate on each cent that came in – what would you do? Don’t feel bad

    May 15, 2009 at 8:14 am

  6. Mom Archer

    I totally agree we aren’t a bank and buggar the clients who think you can do the work and then not pay

    May 15, 2009 at 8:57 am

  7. Michael

    They should have left the fridge and taken the heater – it’s Winter 🙂

    May 15, 2009 at 10:47 am

  8. Maggie

    It’s just as bad as shoplifting, not paying someone for a service. My brother is barely getting by each month because he has so many clients that aren’t paying him. I think it’s shocking. Don’t feel bad for a second.

    May 15, 2009 at 10:49 am

  9. Joanne E

    And you said they had “food standing on the counter, no longer in the fridge” ….. so they are eating – hahahaha!

    Maggie has it spot on – it’s stealing! Stealing from your whole family – you use that money to pay school fees, buy clothes etc.

    May 15, 2009 at 11:37 am

  10. so you must be relieved now. everyone’s said their part. everyone’s for you. don’t feel bad, they might have 2 fridges or even more!

    May 17, 2009 at 7:05 pm

Leave a Reply

