Super Mom

So frustrated

Look, I know that tax is not an easy subject.  I know that the average man on the street does not quite know how it works.  That is why I always take trouble to explain it in as much detail as possible to my clients.  I want them to know why they pay tax.

However if you walk into my office and attack me because apparently *I* double taxed you, then you better know what you are talking about.

Firstly, Podex, I do not tax you.  Look again.  I’m not the Receiver of Revenue.

Secondly, if I ask you what you base your assumption on and you have no clue, don’t attack me.

There is nothing more frustrating than trying to explain a tax situation to someone who is defensive.

I could rather have explained it to Bella.  At least she’s pretty.

5 responses

  1. Jenny

    Bless you!!!!!
    I am a tax consultant.
    You cannot explain tax! It is the ‘unexplicable evil’. Odd, really, because it is the most basic principle – much like adding and subtracting. You earn, you pay. And, if you’re lucky, you get to use your bi-polar disorder (stress management gone awry), or your childs ADHD problem (tartrazine, perhaps?) to your advantage in your tax return! Okay… perhaps that’s a bit sour, but truly… it’s not that difficult!
    I believe Bella would have got it!

    May 18, 2009 at 1:34 pm

  2. oh sweets I sympathise!! I’m in finance and do the commissions for all my brokers…I get the same kind of questions day in and day out!! Drives me batty!

    May 18, 2009 at 8:53 pm

  3. Joanne E

    My bug bear is people who buy stuff like nappies and perfume at the pharmacy and claim them as medical expenses – their reasoning – it was at the pharmacy.

    Tell Podex next time you’ll draw it in pictures!

    May 19, 2009 at 9:33 am

  4. Wenchy

    Hey I never knew Liam was a deductable!?!

    May 19, 2009 at 11:43 am

  5. Oy, sorry Mel… it is very frustrating when people won’t listen!

    May 22, 2009 at 7:56 am

Leave a Reply

