Super Mom

Now I don’t have a blog post anymore

I forgot to pay our water and electricity account. Forgot.  Totally did not even cross my mind. 

My maid phoned this morning to tell me that we have no power and that she has already checked … it’s not typical South African power shedding.  It was me who didn’t pay.

Damn.  Within seconds I pay over the internet but I know that they won’t put it back on today.  Nope.

Power shedding my way.  Not all bad.  We’ll have to eat out (force ourselves now), spend some quality time as a family and not do much homework since we’ll be without light.

It was not to be.  I got home and noticed the lights on.

They actually turned our power back on.  I was going to write this long post about us in the dark and now I have no blog post anymore!

😉

11 responses

  1. lol the ONE day we dont want efficiency! 🙂 🙂

    May 21, 2009 at 9:30 pm

  2. Kimberly

    LOL!! Figures, huh?

    May 21, 2009 at 10:47 pm

  3. Still hope you got some of that quality family time!

    May 22, 2009 at 12:18 am

  4. Wow, not even a warning? We get at least a month’s grace period. Forget TWO payments, though, and out go the lights!

    May 22, 2009 at 5:54 am

  5. Joanne E

    We are prepaid with electricity (they put one in for free a few years back after we were horrendously overcharged each month on account). But if we were late on the rates & taxes & water – they used to cut it off!!! I’d rather be cut electricity? KWIM? Now of course they are not allowed to and we know of some people who have their water connection clipped by the council so that only a trickle comes out – they still have their “right to water” and get it, but I would freak if I had to stand and fill a kettle or something with dribbles like that.

    May 22, 2009 at 7:25 am

  6. Bond Girl

    we had a blackout last night – and I had paid LOL. Dinner and baths by candlelight 🙂 Fortunately I have a gas stove so cooking is never and issue.

    May 22, 2009 at 7:41 am

  7. I kinda hate when that happens…
    🙂

    May 22, 2009 at 7:45 am

  8. This is so funny and I can only laugh because I’ve done it before…a couple of times! It’s embarrassing too. LOL.

    May 22, 2009 at 9:33 am

  9. Wenchy

    Ag nou het ek vernuut vir jou gelag!

    May 22, 2009 at 1:10 pm

  10. You have a very efficient council on your side of the world … we would never be so lucky!!!

    May 22, 2009 at 2:49 pm

  11. this post is still a good one… no worries! 😛

    May 22, 2009 at 8:45 pm

Leave a Reply

