Super Mom

Disappointed in himself

Zander played in his first little rugby match today.  The pre-schools play against each other, regardless of the ages of the kids in the school.  He has been looking forward to this all week.  For the past two days, he wore a scrum cap all the time.

Zander was the youngest out of the lot but played his little heart out.  Until he got the ball and the entire lot fell on top of him.  My poor little boy hurt his leg and cried.  My heart broke for him.  I picked him up and did my Mommy thing.  Uncle Michael did the uncle thing and motivated him to go back on.

I was so proud when he did.  What a big thing for a little boy to do.  However….he got the ball and just stood there.  The referee gave him a tiny push, thinking that would get him going.  Not Zander.  Don’t push him.  He started crying and that was the end of it for him. 

Of course we gave high-fives when he walked off.  Told him he played well.  Generally making him out as the hero.

HiFive

He cried.  Again told him that he played so well, then he turned to me, with a knowing look in his eye and said:  “ I didn’t play well”

He said that because he expected himself to play better. 

He is 3 years old and he expected better.  Maybe he thought he would be able to play like his brothers.  Whatever the reason, he was disappointed in himself.  This is a side of him I have never seen.

My heart broke for him! 

13 responses

  1. My sister lives in Capetown with her husband and four kids. They are on rugby teams to and go to a british school there. It’s so neat how my little niece and nephews are learning the language there. 😀 I would love to see kids playing rugby. I’ve never seen that.

    May 23, 2009 at 8:12 am

  2. Addie

    Poor thing is so hard on himself … better luck next time!!!

    May 23, 2009 at 10:55 am

  3. That’s cute.

    May 23, 2009 at 11:21 am

  4. Well, you’re braver than I am even letting him play! I was ever so glad when my knucklehead decided it wasn’t for him!!
    Poor li’l thing!

    May 24, 2009 at 9:17 am

  5. Anito

    Reading your blog never fails to put a smile on my face. I read your comment in my blog. Thanks.

    May 24, 2009 at 9:37 am

  6. mybloggylife

    Awwww… poor little guy. Way to go for trying, though… Hunter wouldn’t have even been out there.

    May 24, 2009 at 11:21 pm

  7. jen

    awww cute young man

    he is so growing up

    May 25, 2009 at 6:39 am

  8. he’s a player this early?!?! how cute!

    May 25, 2009 at 12:16 pm

  9. Jaxie

    Ag shame man, this is very cute.

    May 25, 2009 at 1:29 pm

  10. One day when he is a great rugby star, the tabloids are going to find this post and run with it. (Grin).

    May 25, 2009 at 4:06 pm

  11. Aw man, my little man is 3 next month and I cant imagine him in this situation. I think I would have cried when he did. You are an amazing mom! I love the photo; I think I see a spot of pride on his gorgeous face.

    May 25, 2009 at 6:43 pm

  12. Panni

    Look at that little face. So happy. Too cute.

    May 26, 2009 at 8:35 am

  13. Maggie

    Poor Z. What a let down for him. But I am sure there will be other great games…

    May 27, 2009 at 9:56 am

Leave a Reply

