Super Mom

Kids

People always say kids can be so cruel but kids can be so very sensitive too.  Like Wenchy’s Victoria on Saturday.

It was Wenchy’s birthday and we were celebrating at Mama Tembos.  A lot of fun.  At one stage I was standing outside with Tommie and her kids.  I stood next to this wooden African woman.

Mama tembo

 

Victoria looked at this and said that the woman looks like me…?  Kinda perplexed at this, I said she doesn’t really … she’s taller than me.  That’s true she says.  She’s also thinner than me, I say.  She walks up to me, pats me on my back and says with compassion:

“That’s okay.  That really doesn’t matter”

 

 

IMG_9012 (Large)  

Mama Tembo is pretty unique in that it is all African.  Drinking out of a glass bottle is not unheard of.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9038 (Large)

 

When you get your meal, you also get this bowl.  Knifes and forks, sauces and a toilet roll.

 

 

Liam, Wenchy’s son, walks up to me all excited.  “Did you see we get free toilet paper!”  “Yes, I said … that’s cool hey” (joining him in his childlike joy).  Tiny silence and then in a soft voice “I think it’s for afterwards” 

Got to love kids!

7 responses

  1. Heather

    lol – you just gotta love how much vitoria is like her mom… as for Liam – one of a kind – the best kind.

    June 16, 2009 at 5:06 pm

  2. Trust my many children to keep you entertained. 🙂

    Is my favourite restaurant that.

    June 16, 2009 at 5:28 pm

  3. Addie

    Sounds like you guys had a whole lot of fun!!!

    June 16, 2009 at 6:42 pm

  4. Hay

    Lol. Golly, toilet paper? That’s, er, unique 🙂

    June 16, 2009 at 7:43 pm

  5. hehe that’s so funny!

    June 16, 2009 at 10:24 pm

  6. That is great about the toilet paper and your child’s comment! I laughed about that. I also loved the, “That’s okay. That really doesn’t matter”. So cute!

    June 17, 2009 at 2:21 am

  7. Mwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaa…

    June 20, 2009 at 8:19 am

Leave a Reply

