Super Mom

I don’t know anymore

I just don’t know what to do anymore

I have potty-trained two boys.  Very successfully.  Without any trouble.  It was smooth-sailing most of the way.  It didn’t even take a long time, from when they showed signs of being ready until the were completely off the nappies. 

Zander.  Well Zander is not making it easy on me.  He has been potty trained since the beginning of the year. Back then I felt that he should have been potty trained already, since he was almost 3.  I needed to have him potty-trained by the time he went to school (on his 3rd birthday).

He was mostly potty trained…just having an accident now and then.  I never felt completely comfortable that he wouldn’t have an accident but for most part, he was okay.

Lately though, it’s been going downhill.  Fast.  I cannot even tell you how many times a day  I need to change his clothes.   Where at one stage he would go to the toilet himself, now he would never.  If I don’t pick up that he needs to go, he won’t. 

I am at the end of my patience.  The end of my options.  I don’t know what to do.

I don’t even know how I will be able to send him back to school on Monday after the school holidays.

5 responses

  1. I can relate – trying to get Elizabeth to use the potty has been an uphill battle…I’m sure it will come together soon for you, maybe there was a change that upset his routine?

    July 19, 2009 at 5:28 pm

  2. Jodi

    What about making him change his own clothes, and soak them in the sink — make him do some of the work? Set a timer for a bit to remind him to go to the toilet? If you are cleaning him all up, perhaps it is all a bit too easy on him?

    July 19, 2009 at 5:47 pm

  3. Aaron did that for awhile too. It was to the point where I couldn’t take him anywhere without an accident for awhile. Good luck!

    July 20, 2009 at 3:42 am

  4. Rav

    Mel, I just think there is so much expectations that we end up putting undue and unintentional stress on our kids. Perhaps he has picked up a bladder infection ? Or just needs some extra TLC ?

    Rav

    July 20, 2009 at 9:26 am

  5. Wenchy

    See why I cant have more kids? I have no patience.

    July 21, 2009 at 9:02 pm

Leave a Reply

