Super Mom

Far far away

This weekend we went to Hoedspruit, where we were going to put my Grandfather’s ashes next to my Ouma’s.  This on a family farm (the farm of my dad’s cousins)  This farm is right next to the Kruger National Park.  There’s no fences between their farm and the park though, so it’s basically like going to the Kruger Park but without the cost!

My dad’s cousins took us on many game drives.  We saw some amazing animals and scenery.  Just so calming and beautiful.

IMG_0573 (Small)

IMG_0634 (Small)

IMG_0729 (Small)

We did have some seriously stressful moments too.  You know, I’m a small town city girl.  We went on a unplanned night drive.  We heard some elephants close to the camp and decided to have a look.  Oh goodness.  You have NO idea how utterly terrifying it is in the pitch dark, when you hear lions roar, and elephants breaking trees right next to you.  More so when you have no gun protection and a little one child on your lap.  Sjoe People.  Talk about nerves on end.

IMG_0678 (Small)

I, being the not-so-normal person that I am, needed to work while there as well.  Unfortunately the internet reception was close to none-existing.  Work still needed to be done though, so I ended up driving to a higher spot.  All by myself.  In an open Land Cruiser.  No protection.  When my dad’s cousin left me there, he warned me to rather NOT start the Cruiser of a black rhino charges  me.  … … … yeah right!

5732_237227190050_798565050_8425969_3700734_n

Putting my Oupa’s ashes next to my Ouma’s was really special.  The boys were involved and I think Oupa would have liked that.  He probably would really have loved it when Zander decided to kick the rugby ball right in the middle of our little ceremony.

IMG_0722 (Small)

It is far though.  Really really far.  Feels like days per horse or more.  F.A.R.   My dad drove and he isn’t keen on getting speeding tickets drive fast at all.

At one stage, after the sun had set and we had been in the car for HOURS…this little tired voice piped up from the back of the car:

“Oupa, you are going so slow that even big trucks with 36 wheels are passing us!”

8 responses

  1. What a beautiful spot to lay him to rest. LOL at the comment about the speed

    August 24, 2009 at 10:43 pm

  2. Sounds like it was a special and memoral weekend for all. Sorry you had to work as well.

    August 25, 2009 at 8:35 am

  3. What a beautiful site! How hardworking you are!

    August 25, 2009 at 9:51 am

  4. Photos look amazing of the animals. Although I would also be scared of rhinos charging me!

    August 25, 2009 at 3:48 pm

  5. Yes, such a sad time … but also a very special time you all got to share together.
    BEAUTIFUL pics! Thinking and praying for you and your fam!

    August 25, 2009 at 8:19 pm

  6. Wenchy

    🙂 Beautiful.

    August 26, 2009 at 6:51 pm

  7. Looks like a gorgeous area and a wonderful ceremony to honor him. So very sorry for your loss.

    August 28, 2009 at 8:18 pm

  8. It looks beautiful!

    September 4, 2009 at 7:12 pm

Leave a Reply

