Super Mom

Just a few more minutes

Do you think about what a difference, just a few more minutes make?  When you spend just a little more time with someone.   When you actually listen to what they say?

I had a client last week.  He was almost an hour early.  When he walked in, I could see that I was in for a long chat.  Normally it makes my heart sink just a tiny bit, since I have so much work and not a lot of time to listen to ingrown toenails and the birth of the first cousin removed on the father’s side that had a cat who had a kitten.

However, he started telling me about his day and I realized how selfish I am.  How just a bit of my time would make such a big difference to this old man.  His day, everyday, consists out of waking up, having breakfast, building a puzzle, lunch, crossword puzzles, dinner and bed. 

Every day.

Alone.

Every day.

Coming for his tax is a huge outing for him! 

I took time to listen to the contraptions he has made.  How he locks his car so that it won’t get stolen.  I tell you if he had to go a bit senile, he would NEVER be able to get into his very own car…or his safe for that matter.

Everyone has a story, Oprah once said.  It’s true.  He was taken away from his mom, when his sister was sexually abused by the gardener.  He was in an orphanage until he was in high school.  Only then did he have contact with his mom.

Everyone has a story.  If only we are willing to stop and listen.

6 responses

  1. You’re so right.

    I keep telling myself this when I go and see my dad. He is also a rambler (think yadda yadda yadda yadda to the power of 10), but if I sit and listen long enough, eventually a new story will come out that I have not heard yet. Its usually something from WW II (my dad is 81 and lived in nazi occupied Holland in his childhood)and then it becomes fascinating. But it takes time, and deep breaths, but it’s worth it in the end.

    September 8, 2009 at 8:10 pm

  2. Hay

    So true. And really listening is a gift we can all give if we choose to.

    September 8, 2009 at 10:07 pm

  3. I so loved this post, Mel. Very true.

    September 9, 2009 at 10:17 am

  4. so true.

    September 11, 2009 at 5:50 pm

  5. mywindowsill

    you are right. sometimes i am so busy, i just want the short version. but listening and concentrating (without interrupting) is a beautiful gift.

    September 12, 2009 at 5:18 am

  6. Aw aren’t you the most awesome person, Mel…

    September 13, 2009 at 9:40 pm

Leave a Reply

