Super Mom

Pink letters

I get home from work and notice a pink letter on my gate.  NOT good news, I think to myself.

Not good news in fact.  The municipality had a look at my account and according to them, I’m behind on my electricity payment.  No contact with me to find out if this is correct.  No, fuck you, they just cut my electricity.

It’s after 4 when I get home.  On the little pink notice, I see they close at 3:30.  Lovely.  I try anyway and after speaking to 5 uhm … employees (let’s be nice here), I actually find someone in the right department.  Or I think so…could have been a chimp too…lots of grunting en so.

I explain that my account is not in arrears, that I have not missed a payment even though the 33 % increase has caused a 100 % increase in my monthly account.

Sorry, she says but your account is in arrears.  Uhm…okay.  I tell her that I would send her proof of the payments if only I had electricity to do so.  Can’t because they cut my power!  Right.

So I load the kids back into the car and rush back to work. ( Jason mentioned that I passed a couple of fast flying birds.)

I got the proof from the internet and faxed it to said employee.  Phoned her to ask if she got it (thankfully got her direct number) and no, she has not.

I ask her to refresh her e-mail…is mos so fax to e-mail number.  She didn’t think it was funny, I think?  It might have just been a random grunt.  I think without doing that, she asked if I paid my account at Pick ‘n Pay.  I do not, I say, not quite seeing the relevance of the question.

Well, apparently there was some sense in her question.  They seem to have a problem reconciling the internet payments with the accounts, so yes, maybe I’m not behind in payments.

WTF!!!  You must be joking!  You cut my electricity and you know you aren’t 100 % reconciled!!!!!!!  Could she not ask this the first time I phoned!?

Hell no.  I was SO furious! 

My dad (for the gazillionth time) said that we must leave the country.  There is just no sense in how things work.  Actually things just mostly don’t.  Zander was with me when I had my little tantrum in the office I discussed this with my dad.

Back at home, while helping me with dinner, he turned to me and asked me to please not leave Africa.  He doesn’t want to stay behind by himself.  Oh my little boy. 

24 responses

  1. Wenchy

    Ek stem nou so saam met die grunting en so…. ook dat jy tog nie my alleen, met Zander in Afrika moet los nie. ‘seblief dogter.

    Het julle darem nou weer power?

    October 13, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    • Dit was tog so sweet! Yes we have power!!!!

      October 14, 2009 at 9:37 am

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever seen you so cross. Don’t blame you – I would have been, too. Just glad you got your power back on!

    October 13, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    • Yeah, sorry about the temper tantrum!

      October 14, 2009 at 9:36 am

  3. Debs

    Geez…Mel..you’re fuming..can feel the heat all the way in Ireland. Don’t blame you..I’d want to bomb ppl right now. I know you feel sometimes you want to leave SA, but truly, bear in mind that each country has it’s own problems and issues….love Ireland but they’re sometimes so backwards you want to fall over laughing….SA looks advanced sometimes when you look at medical issues etc. And hate stores that are closed at lunchtime..this is NOT Krugersdorp in the 1960’s….or is it? Hugs xxx

    October 13, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    • But you have to remember that we do have towns that still closes down during lunch!!! Hahahahhaha One is just 40 km from my home!!! Hahahah that’s so funny!!!

      October 14, 2009 at 9:35 am

  4. Pingback: eskom is a bully « Robin’s Perch

    • Yeah, imagine that! All paid up and THEY don’t reconcile!! How can they take such action if they know they aren’t reconciled!!! URGH

      October 14, 2009 at 9:34 am

  5. mywindowsill

    today methinks Eskom is madder than Malema.

    October 13, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    • And THAT wants to be done!

      October 14, 2009 at 9:33 am

  6. OMG. What a laugh! (not) It’s just typical. You’re not the only one, though with the 100 percent increase, I heard Gareth Cliff moaning about it too on 5fm.

    Your dad is right you know…(but please take Zander with okay?) Cute thing!

    October 13, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    • I know my dad is right!! I would have been LONG gone if only Tommie would. I have spoken to him endless times about leaving

      October 14, 2009 at 9:33 am

  7. Evi

    WOW< i have never read anything this full of steam of you. But I, as the others, don't blame you for being this upset.
    You could always move to Ohio 😉 I'd be your neighbor any day.

    October 13, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    • OH I’m on my way!!! 😉 (I wish)

      October 14, 2009 at 9:39 am

  8. That is so not right of them – knowing their system is not perfect should have at least caused them to send you a notice, give you time to prove you have paid.

    Zander, how cute!

    October 14, 2009 at 6:03 am

    • I agree. That’s what should happen in a civilized country!

      October 14, 2009 at 9:42 am

  9. I had same problem with internet payments, often! We now pay at Pick ‘n Pay – much much easier! Our electricity is pre paid thankfully, but if rates/water is behind then they put a block on our account so we can’t purchase electricity. Not that we are behind.
    They also now have changed their billing system from 28th to 15th …. so everyone is freaking out about that this month as it has just been implemented.

    October 14, 2009 at 8:01 am

    • I just don’t want the hassle of standing in those que’s!!! I hardly ever go to Pick ‘n Pay. Internet is just so convenient. It’s the first time they have done this. Best it be the last!

      October 14, 2009 at 9:44 am

  10. Oi vey, you’re the second person this week to complain about the same thing. Just shouted at Lance that he needs to double check our account every month

    October 14, 2009 at 10:58 pm

  11. Our power company gives at least two warnings before shutting off power. I know, one time I forgot to pay the bill for two months. Took care of it after the second notice with no problems. The customer should be treated with a certain amount of respect.

    If you left Africa, where would you go?

    October 15, 2009 at 12:28 am

    • Probably Australia. But Tommie (my husband) would never leave. We have spoken about it so many times and even though he agrees that we should leave, he won’t

      October 15, 2009 at 8:27 am

  12. JennyKlass

    Glad you now have power, just remember that all countries have their own problems, you could just be swopping one set for another set….Lol….we are here for the long hall ,so you wount be alone .

    October 15, 2009 at 1:37 pm

  13. Moaning Myrtle

    that is so ridiculous the way they deal with things! hope you got it all sorted. xx

    October 15, 2009 at 5:03 pm

  14. THEY can’t do their recons so YOU have to suffer!!!?!?!!
    How bass-ackwards is that!!!?

    So sorry Mel…

    October 19, 2009 at 10:00 pm

Leave a Reply

