Super Mom

Matric farewell

I read an article about matric farewells in a magazine last night and thought of mine.

My brother was in a serious car accident, just before our matric farewell.  Thankfully just after our exams.

We spent 10 days in Pretoria, while he was in ICU. There were days when we didn’t think he would make it and the very last thing on my mind was my matric farewell. 

He got discharged the day of my matric farewell.  My friend phoned and asked if I would still be going and I said that there is no way.  I had no dress (it wasn’t finished by the time we left), I was still in Pretoria.  No shoes.  No-one to do my hair.  I was not a make-up wearing teenager, so I needed someone to help in that department and my mom wouldn’t be up to it when we got home.  Most importantly, I also had no date.  My ex-boyfriend had moved to the Cape and was going to come down for the farewell.  That got cancelled with the accident.

My eldest brother convinced me to go though and drove me back to Klerksdorp late that morning.  We got home after lunch.  I got my dress (UGLY), went to buy shoes.  Could find NO shoes that would go with the dress, so ended up painting them!  Went to a hairdresser I didn’t know (didn’t look good at all) and my mom ended up being able to put on my make-up. 

Our neighbour’s son was so kind as to go with me, dressed in his church suit.  He is a year (maybe 2?) younger than me but at least I had a guy on my side.

As you all know, the car is a big issue too.  For us?  My mom took us in her own car and we were dropped 2 blocks away from the hall.  There was just no time for her to wait in that long line of cars to drop us off in front of the hall, since she needed to urgently get back to my brother.

I didn’t go to the after-party.  I went home.  I don’t have fond memories of that night and probably shouldn’t have gone.  However, now I can say that I did go, rather than saying I didn’t.

matric dance

I’m second from the right. 

11 responses

  1. I also don’t really have fond memories of mine. It was *okay* but my date was a total jerk, he was nice enough during the dance, but during the after party, I discovered he had brought condoms…I wasn’t even interested in him! (he later went on to play Springbok rugby, maar dis n ander storie). One of my good friends, also didn’t attend the dance, because her brother had actually been killed in a car accident the day before. I was SO gutted for her. She had everything ready, and then this huge family tragedy. So sad.

    October 23, 2009 at 10:29 am

    • That is SO sad! Your poor friend. About the condoms..it’s funny how boys think they are going to get ‘lucky’ that night!

      October 23, 2009 at 12:21 pm

      • Looking at the photo it looks like there were a couple of brothers of people in the photo in serious accidents 🙂 Only kidding… Sorry for stuffing up your matric fairwell.

        October 23, 2009 at 3:18 pm

      • Hhahahahha Dis baie funny. Nah, it wasn’t as though you wouldn’t listen ne’ 😉

        October 23, 2009 at 3:28 pm

  2. I think you look really pretty in that picture, it’s certainly better than some of the other dresses.

    October 23, 2009 at 12:54 pm

  3. Is lekker dat ek al jou stories al klaar ken. 🙂

    My matric farewell was nothing special.

    October 23, 2009 at 5:40 pm

  4. I had a surprise party thrown for me by my sister and friends when I finished writing my matric equivalent exams… I had to leave school because I was preggers with my knucklehead in grade 11, so no matric dance for me.

    October 24, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    • That was so nice of them!

      > —–Original Message—– >

      October 25, 2009 at 3:38 pm

  5. I also have very odd memories of that night… it definitely wasn’t the best, but it was memorable.
    If you hadn’t have gone, you would have always wondered about it… so it’s good you went

    October 25, 2009 at 8:02 am

  6. oh heng bok! one day I will post my matric farewell picture….make you feel muuuuchhh better – you look lovely.

    my matric farewell is also worth a post of its own!

    October 27, 2009 at 5:29 pm

Leave a Reply

