Super Mom

Discipline

I have no problem with discipline at school.  I think it creates a situation where children have respect for their school, teachers and other kids.  They must have discipline.  They must follow the rules.

Discipline must be fair though.

Quintus got into a ‘fight’ at school with 2 boys who are a year younger than him.  They were playing rugby, when Quintus grabbed the one boy by his shirt (to stop him from getting the ball)  The boy got upset (as boys do) and pushed Quintus.  Quintus took his ball and threw it away from them.  The other boy pushed Quintus and Quintus pushed back.

The younger boys went to their teacher and Quintus got into trouble.  Fine.  He was wrong.  He shouldn’t have got into a pushing game with two younger boys.

Want to know what the discipline is though?  She is going to make him sit in front of all the teachers in the personnel room during the two breaks. 

WTH?  Degrade him? How is that punishment?  In front of all the teacher who will be giving him class next year.  They can sit there, look at him and already decide that he is a difficult, naughty child.  They don’t know him but they will already create their own wrong view of my son.

He is 9 years old.  Can you imagine how he will feel, sitting there in front of all those teachers?

No I sit with a dilemma.  Do I go to the school and sign him out before break?  Then he thinks it’s okay to run away from punishment.

Do I talk to his teacher.  This is the route I think I should take.  He doesn’t want me to as he says she will pick on him and just take him another day.

I would have preferred to go there and wait for break and see if she actually does take him. (She might have changed her mind during the night).  I can’t do this though, as I have a client exactly then.

Discipline my child.  Don’t degrade him.

Update:

I phoned the principle.  Oulike man daardie.  He said he would never allow that.  It’s not a way of discipline in the school.  I really should have known that. 

It sure stressed my son out!

14 responses

  1. That’s not good discipline for me too. That’s not the way to teach kids lessons. It will create a negative impact in them rather than change them for that better.

    November 24, 2009 at 10:11 am

  2. Perhaps the teacher knew that it would scare the kids, so uses it as a ‘threat’. With my eldest, our biggest punishment threat to him (when he’s naught/nasty to his little brother) is that ‘We will tell your teacher’ stops him in his tracks every time!

    November 24, 2009 at 10:34 am

  3. Moaning Myrtle

    That’s awful that they wanted him to do that. I agree with you its not the right way to teach them punishment.

    November 24, 2009 at 11:22 am

  4. Natalie Archer

    That “type of discipline” is just plain wrong. I am so pleased that the principal agrees with you and would not allow that to happen. Poor Minty he must have been beside himself with worry. Give him a big hug from us when you fetch him from school.

    November 24, 2009 at 11:42 am

  5. Oh please – who’s the kid in that situation? How very school-yard of her! Glad it was sorted out and yes boys will be boys. I would have felt the same!
    And it looks as though what I thought was a valued friendship is about to end over petty rubbish as well, because a mom can’t see that. But tough, life’s too short to sweat the small stuff.

    November 24, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    • Friendship is so prescious. How sad that you might lose a friend over something petty. (((hugs)))

      November 24, 2009 at 1:40 pm

  6. Glad it worked out. That sort of punishment would be ridiculous. You are a good mom and Quintus is a good kid.

    November 24, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    • Thank you very much. I appreciate those words

      November 24, 2009 at 1:40 pm

  7. Kan ek raai wie die juffrou is? Dieselfde een wat vir Caralyn gese het sy is die stoutste kind in 30 jaar in haar klas en die een wat haar vir 3 WEKE pouses in die klas laat sit het sonder om vir my te se?? Sort haar uit girl…of bel my ek sal.

    November 24, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    • Through my Eyes Photography

      En kyk net waar is Caralyn vandag! Gelukkig sal Albert nie sulke nonsens toelaat nie. Ek was baie upset dat sy hom daarmee gedreig het. Hy was SO bang om skool toe te gaan vanoggend. En heng, jy ken hom, hy is geen boelie nie.

      > —–Original Message—– >

      November 24, 2009 at 8:14 pm

  8. How on earth were you supposed to know that it wasn’t acceptable if your child told the story? The fact that he was threatened with it, would make me mad!

    November 25, 2009 at 9:43 am

  9. Addie

    Good on you for calling the principle. Hopefully he’ll talk to the teacher and prevent something like this from happening to any other child.

    November 25, 2009 at 2:08 pm

  10. dis nou ‘n stupid punishment

    November 25, 2009 at 9:22 pm

  11. Bond Girl

    Good that you brought it to the principles attention. I also don’t agree with degrading the children. discipline is different and neccessary.

    November 26, 2009 at 9:17 am

Leave a Reply

