Super Mom

The lucky ones

My boys are definitely.  Lucky.  As in lucky to have the family they have.   Also very lucky to have the Uncle they do.

My brother is not just their godfather but also their friend.  Their trusted adult.  The one that is just always there.  Well, they have me, Tommie, my folks too but their relationship is just different.

It’s fun and deep and trusting and caring. 

My brother will drop everything when Zander phones him in the morning, to ask him to pick him up from school.    He will take off from work to watch the boys’ sport. Even when I phone him as we get to the school since I forgot to do so before then!  He will sit through school concerts and let’s face it they can be boring when you have to watch 5 minutes of your child and 1,5 hours of other kids.  When the kids are going through a tough time, he will come over to make sure they’ are okay.  He even took them for ice-cream in his brand new car once!  Now THAT’s not for the faint hearted.

Michael, you rock.  I couldn’t ask for a better Uncle for them.  You are so much more than just Uncle Michael for them.  My boys look up to you and love you. 

Thank you for being that person in their live.

IMG_2609edit

12 responses

  1. Oh Mel what a lovely post….and my brother would be THAT person if he lived here 😦 Gosh I miss him!

    November 26, 2009 at 11:12 pm

  2. How wonderful for you AND for the boys!

    November 26, 2009 at 11:41 pm

  3. I always wanted to be that kind of Uncle. The fun Uncle, but my sister never let me be. As for my own kids, they have three uncles but none of them are at all interested in coming around. And the grandfathers don’t show any interest either. I’m it, the only male role model my son will have. It’s a lot of pressure! But I look at it this way… Thank goodness my kids at least have me.

    November 27, 2009 at 8:45 am

    • Yes thankfully they do have you. You are an awesome father

      November 27, 2009 at 9:53 am

  4. Moaning Myrtle

    i get goosebumps reading that post.

    November 27, 2009 at 11:28 am

  5. He does seem like an awesome guy all round. Go Uncle Mike!

    November 27, 2009 at 12:42 pm

  6. Bond Girl

    Havent seen your kids in ages but in that photo Q is looking just like a mini Tommie, Jason has changed so much – lost that little boy look and Zander looks like you.

    November 27, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    • So glad one of the kids look like me!!! We MUST make a plan to see each other this holiday.

      November 27, 2009 at 1:45 pm

  7. He sounds amazing!

    November 29, 2009 at 8:16 pm

  8. Thanks for the advert 🙂 Your kids are so great, it’s only a pleasure to spend time with them. You and Tommie are doing something right with those kids…. Michael

    November 30, 2009 at 9:44 pm

  9. He is a good man.

    November 30, 2009 at 9:46 pm

  10. Ouma Archer

    He is the best 🙂

    December 6, 2009 at 8:31 pm

Leave a Reply

