Super Mom

My biggest fear

One of my very biggest fears are one of my kids drowning. My kids don’t swim without me around. They wear floating devices. We have a fence around our pool, as well as a net over the pool. We … my entire family…we are all neurotic I suppose.

This morning our neighbour phoned. I don’t know her at all but she got our number from our garden boy. She wanted to know if I knew what horrible thing had happened at my house. I million things ran through my mind but a kid who drowned is definitely not one of them.
She told me that my housekeeper’s son had drowned in our pool. That she heard her screaming and ran over the street to see what happened. She phoned the ambulance and police. It was too late though. The little boy (5) had drowned. Once the ambulance got there, there was nothing they could do to save him.

His mom (who has only been working for me just over a month) got her son out of the pool. She must have been petrified. She can’t swim either. She ran for help and as I understand he was still breathing. I don’t understand if he was still breathing that he couldn’t be helped.

I wish I was home. Firstly my pool net wouldn’t be off. Also I can do CPR.

Since we aren’t home and there are no kids at our house, Tommie doesn’t put the net back on once he has swam. There is no reason to. We have a fence around the pool anyway.
She never said that she was going to bring him to our house, or I would have asked Tommie to put the net back on.
As I understand she was going to buy him some clothes this afternoon. He must have been so excited. Excited to go to work with his mom. Excited to get new clothes.

This is so not right. My heart is so very very sore.

25 responses

  1. Mel darling… I have no words that can take away your heartache.

    December 11, 2009 at 8:14 pm

  2. I’m so sorry – That is truly awful.
    Wish there was something one could do.

    December 11, 2009 at 8:52 pm

  3. Oh Mel ((hugs)) my friend and you and the little angels mom are in my prayers 😦

    December 11, 2009 at 9:17 pm

  4. Wenchy

    Ek huil krokkedil trane saam met jou. Dis vreeslike onstellened. IT’S HORRIBLE

    December 11, 2009 at 10:41 pm

  5. So sorry!

    December 11, 2009 at 11:36 pm

  6. Oh no! That is so heart breaking 😦 I’m so very sorry…

    December 12, 2009 at 3:49 am

  7. Evi

    Oh Mel, I am so sorry. ((((HUGS)))))

    December 12, 2009 at 5:06 am

  8. Because you are a good person, and know the risks, you make sure that every avenue is covered – and you did. So did Tommy. If she didn’t tell you she was bringing her son with her, then that was wrong. Because of her irresponsibility, she has forever placed the burden of the ‘could have, might have, should have’ on your shoulders and that is NOT FAIR on you. As a mother, I am very sorry for her loss, of course, but still she made a very grave mistake in not telling you, let alone how her child got into the pool without her. I just don’t understand some people.

    December 12, 2009 at 6:48 am

  9. That’s awful… 😦

    December 12, 2009 at 8:30 am

  10. Addie

    This is tragic for all involved. So sorry, Mel.

    December 12, 2009 at 11:08 am

  11. What an absolute tragedy, its so sad because she probably didnt register the risks of having her son there. What a devastating thing for any mother to have to deal with. Strongs to you Mel. xx

    December 12, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    • I don’t think she did. I feel horrible for her. She was so devastated when I spoke to her today

      > —–Original Message—– >

      December 12, 2009 at 5:13 pm

  12. Oh Melany:( HOW HORRIBLE! I can’t even begin to imagine. My thoughts and prayers are with you all. What a sad sad tragedy:(

    December 12, 2009 at 8:24 pm

  13. Oh, no. Melany, I am so sorry. My heart goes out to the poor mama who lost her baby. What a tragedy.

    I am sorry for you, too. I know you are absolutely heartbroken. My condolences for all.

    December 12, 2009 at 8:52 pm

  14. Hanlie

    Ai, dit is baie hartseer. Dit is verseker nie julle skuld nie, maar ek kan verstaan dat mens hondsleg voel. Daar is baie verdrinkings die afgelope tyd in Gauteng. Ons het die ander dag verby ‘n fontein gery. Die fontein is deel van ‘n parkie. So 3 kindertjies het in die dammetjie van die fontein geswem. Baie kinders is nie waterwys nie en dan gebeur dit dat tot 12 jariges verdrink. Bid vir julle almal in hierdie hartseer tyd.

    December 12, 2009 at 8:59 pm

  15. Hay

    Oh god. That is so unbearably sad. That poor mama. Hugs to you Mel.

    December 12, 2009 at 10:26 pm

  16. OMw, that’s just so terrible 😦

    December 13, 2009 at 5:20 pm

  17. What an aweful thing 😦 I am sorry for her, for you – for everyone 😦

    December 14, 2009 at 5:50 am

  18. oh my god! what a sad thing!

    December 14, 2009 at 9:52 am

  19. Meriel

    Very sad Mel. No ones fault, just an accident. But so devastating. xxx

    December 15, 2009 at 11:37 am

  20. JennyKlass

    So sorry Melany

    December 16, 2009 at 8:45 pm

  21. Kerry

    your Mum told me and I was in total shock, what a tragic thing to have happened, I know how responsible you and Tommie are and I can just imagine how terribly sad you all are

    December 18, 2009 at 11:43 am

  22. Holness Family

    So sorry to hear about this tragic incident.

    December 18, 2009 at 3:27 pm

  23. Rav

    Om my gosh this is devastating. I am really feeling for the Mum. And I can only imagine how this news must have jerked you. Sorry to both of you.

    December 21, 2009 at 1:17 pm

  24. OMG I can’t imagine the hurt and guilt the boy’s mom would have felt. And of course, since it happened in your pool, you will be affected too.

    I hope you find peace after this tragedy, all of you. My heart breaks everytime I hear this kind of story. So so so sorry to hear this.

    December 30, 2009 at 3:35 pm

Leave a Reply

