Super Mom

Year-End post

(Thanks Wenchy)

1.What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?

Coloured my hair RED

img_0303c_thumb

Took in a ‘foster’ child

img_5295-small

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I didn’t make any in 2009.  I don’t often do.  I mean it’s just another day.  The day after today.  Why is it that special?

This year though I have plans … not resolutions.

  • I want to sell our house (or get rid of the pool)
  • I want to find the patience I once had.  I lost it some time / some where this year

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

My sister-in-law gave birth to now-not-so little Nicolas

Jax gave birth to Sarah-Kate

My hairdresser / friend gave birth to Reece

My very very close friend adopted a girl.  Not a baby but just as special

4. Did anyone close to you die?

My maid who had worked for me for 8 years

My new maid’s son who drowned in my pool

5. What countries did you visit?

None

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

Patience

Money hahhahahahha

To be more organized especially with regards to the boys school letters and papers

7. What date(s) from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

The deaths

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year

Potty –training Zander lol!  Thought that would never happen

9. What was your biggest failure?

Picking up weight

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I had the operation to release a nerve that was pinched in my elbow, only to later find out the nerve is pinched in my neck and the operation unnecessary.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

My Nokia N97.  Okay I didn’t buy it, since it came with my contract but I love it!

Also love that I finally had my ring made (with diamonds I’ve had for years)

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

My kids.  My family.  Tommie wasn’t too bad either.  My dog was cute!

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

My father-in-law.  No-one deserves to be spoken to, the way he speaks to Tommie.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Daily living expenses. Some on vacations / weekends away

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Nothing that I can think about

16. What song will always remind you of 2009?

Baby tjoklits.  Zander absolutely loves this song and it was on repeat in my car for a long time.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

Happier or sadder? Sadder

Thinner or fatter? Fatter

Richer or poorer? The same?

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Played with my kids more.

Took more time to spend with Tommie (even if it meant watching endless Discovery channel programs)

Read more.  To the kids as well

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

I wish I had spent less time on the computer

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

I spent it with all my family.  Was really nice and relaxing

21. How will you be spending New Year?

Apparently alone.  It’s 6 pm and Tommie’s not home.

22. Did you fall in love in 2009?

Mmmm No.  I wouldn’t say so

23. How many one-night stands?

None.  Really sad if you can’t have a proper relationship and need to have one-night stands

24. What was your favourite TV programme?

Super Nanny (makes my kids look so well behaved)

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Hate is a strong word, I always say

26. What was the best book you read?

Deception point

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Can’t think of someone particular. 

28. What did you want and get?

My Nokia N97.  My ring.

29. What did you want and not get?

A new laptop?  Although I never did ask for one or plan to buy it.  Did have it in the back of my mind though.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?

Invictus and Avatar

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

We were camping at Buffelspoort.  The boys had a rugby weekend. The night of my birthday was supposed to be my ‘party’ but Tommie everyone partied so much the night before, that we were all asleep by 9 pm.

32.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

I don’t know.  If I just felt less emotional and more in charge of my own feelings.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?

Same as the past couple of years.  Jeans and probably some neater tops when at work.

34. What kept you sane?

My boys

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Ag nee heng.  No-one.  They are all just human like me

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

All the corrupt politicians

37. Who did you miss?

The old me.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

We’ve actually known him for a long time but Kolie is now almost like family.  I am so glad he is in our lives.  He can make a kick-ass braai as well.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.

Life is very very short.  Seconds and everything changes

40. Quote that sums up your year.

"In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life:
it goes on."
¯Robert Frost

That is even when you think life should stand still with you.

New year

11 responses

  1. Jen

    Happy New Year

    very nice photo of you

    and arent your kids growing _Zander is still very cute 🙂

    January 1, 2010 at 6:04 am

  2. Wenchy

    I love you in ways I have no words for. I tried to express you in my latest blog… Mel, was dit nie vir jou nie weet ek nie…. jy IS net. 🙂 Elke dag. Maak nie saak wat in my lewe gebeur nie, jy is altyd DAAR.

    January 1, 2010 at 10:45 pm

  3. Hey Mel, I’ve moved my blog, feel free to stop by. I hope you have a very happy 2010. 🙂
    Wendy aka Mrs. Diamond

    January 3, 2010 at 5:59 am

  4. Moaning Myrtle

    All the best for 2010 – hope its a good one for you and your family. xx

    January 4, 2010 at 6:49 pm

  5. i enjoyed your list and may poach it. 🙂

    am sad to see you enter 2010 sad but I understand – I trust this will be a year of healing and that your house will sell and you can make a new start.

    you are an awesome mom. Even if you dont always read to the boys and even if you do spend a tad too much time on the computer – remember that!

    January 4, 2010 at 8:12 pm

  6. Happy New Year my friend.

    I hope you are well. I really do miss you.

    xxx

    January 5, 2010 at 7:42 am

    • Happy New Year to you as well.

      How was the holiday?

      > —–Original Message—– >

      January 5, 2010 at 3:41 pm

      • Holiday was good – always too short though.

        January 7, 2010 at 6:06 am

  7. I really loved reading that, thanks Mel!

    January 6, 2010 at 12:10 am

  8. michelle matthews

    Hi Mel
    Klink of jy ‘n ongelooflike stresvolle en challenging jaar gehad het. Ek wil jou komplimenteer vir jou groot passie en aandag aan jou moederskap, dis seker die most noble job, en die mees afgeskeepte. En dan’t jy nog moed om ekstra kiddies ook groot te maak. maar mooi dat jy genoeg boundaries daar stel om nie jou eie kinders daaronder te laat lei nie. en dan werk jy natuurlik ook nog. amazing, keep up the good work!!!
    baie liefde, Michelle

    February 10, 2010 at 7:43 am

    • Dit was nogal hectic en nou met die’ dat Kyla se pa haar in die middel van die nag kom haal het, is alles nog meer deurmekaar. Maar dankie vir die komplimente. Ek waardeer dit baie!

      February 10, 2010 at 11:16 am

Leave a Reply

