Super Mom

MY first day of school

Another blog challenge…here we go.

1980 eerste dag skool toe

I can clearly remember my very first school day.  As the youngest of three kids, I knew what school was about.  I knew the teachers.  I knew the school. 

My mom was obviously emotional.  Her very last baby…her only daughter…  She walked  me to my desk.  The desk with my name printed so neatly.  One of the first kids in the class.  I remember sitting there…quietly, impatiently, tapping my fingers on the desk.  When will the parents leave and school start?

I remember the girl who sat next to me.  M Morkel.  Even though her twin brother was also in the class, she seemed more nervous than me.

I remember looking at my mom and saying:   “It’s okay Mom, you can go.  I’m a big girl now.”

6 responses

  1. Lovely, Mel.

    January 14, 2010 at 9:37 am

  2. Waar de dinges was daai foto geneem. Ek probeer uitwerk maar kan nie agterkom nie 🙂

    January 14, 2010 at 10:09 am

    • Agter by die swembad…waar die ou afdak nou is? Die een wat ons nie meer gebruik nie

      January 14, 2010 at 10:30 am

  3. Thanks for taking part 🙂

    That blazer looks so big!! I remember the name tags on the tables too. We had them till Std 1 I think!

    January 15, 2010 at 3:00 pm

  4. Wenchy

    There are no pictures of me on my first day. I walked myself accross the road to my school.

    January 17, 2010 at 4:56 pm

  5. My first day was also cool! I had such a small class…

    January 19, 2010 at 7:32 am

Leave a Reply

