Super Mom

How things change

Since I have three kids, I have obviously had many sleepless nights.  Interrupted sleep expected.

My kids never slept through at 6 weeks.  Or even a year.  Or even two years.  None of that.  

I could cope on very little sleep.  I could work and function almost normal even though I didn’t sleep proper at all.

In the past year or two, sleep has returned.  Very welcome that. 

Now…now I need sleep.  I think my body is catching up.  I absolutely cannot cope with 6 hours sleep.  It has to be 8 and preferably more. 

Last night after Zander’s birthday party our friends just wouldn’t leave we went to bed too late.  Zander crawled into bed with us at some stage and just wouldn’t lie still and fall into a deep sleep.

I feel tired today!!!  I can’t keep my eyes open. 

How things have changed!

10 responses

  1. jen

    I often have a bed pal (D4) he sleeps well with me although he does take over the bed 🙂

    January 15, 2010 at 4:28 pm

  2. I know exactly what you mean!! I functioned for 9 years on very little sleep while my 4 kids were young. These days I find myself drooping by 9:00! Coffee is my best friend. 🙂

    January 15, 2010 at 5:07 pm

  3. Wenchy

    I am no longer nocturnal which is drug induced mostly, but my doctor would rather have me sleep than not apparently. 🙂

    January 15, 2010 at 5:13 pm

  4. Kiara is 5 and still wakes up.

    I have resigned myself to the fact that it is what it is.

    January 15, 2010 at 6:24 pm

  5. I’m feeling ya… I think I got 4 hours last night. And I definitely need 8.

    January 15, 2010 at 9:26 pm

  6. Thanks for your MORE THAN NICE cooments on my latest blog post! ~ jb///

    January 16, 2010 at 8:23 pm

  7. Luckily both my girls are sleeping through, but for some reason I dont get tired till 1/2am ?

    January 16, 2010 at 10:01 pm

  8. I hear you. Somehow our bodies *know* they have to kick into survival mode when our kids are very young and we just handle. But once *our bodies* KNOW the kids can sleep through then they once again crave more sleep and punish us severely if we dont give it to them !!! I also need a minimum of 8 hours. Not easy to achieve.

    January 17, 2010 at 9:19 am

  9. Hi there 😉 Sleep is not my friend – never was and probably never will be. I only get “sleepy” between midnight and two in the morning 😦 I would love to change that.

    January 18, 2010 at 11:01 am

  10. A person’s body definitely learns to “make do” until it can adjust.

    January 19, 2010 at 7:28 am

Leave a Reply

