Super Mom

I think I’m doing okay?

I used to be a nerd study real hard at school.  I played sport, I sang in the choir, I had many friends but I studied, really really hard.  When it got to tests and exams, there was no time for other stuff.  Nothing.  I studied.  I put a lot of pressure on myself.  If I got under 80 % on subject, I would be upset with myself for weeks.

Now, looking back at my school and ‘varsity years, I know I should have studied less and enjoyed being a kid more.  I said that this is what I want for my children.  I want them to be more balanced.

This was easy up until now.  Now Quintus started with exams and I really battle to stand back.  To find that balance between pushing him and not pushing him.

He has done really well so far.  And even though the result on one of his tests would have freaked me out before, I realized that the balance is right.  He is studying and doing well.  Studying more than enough for someone his age and still enjoying his friends and sport.

6 responses

  1. I can so relate on this one. We want our kids to do well but we want them to enjoy their childhood

    March 5, 2010 at 7:07 pm

  2. Oh yes, a tough one to learn and still waiting for me.

    March 5, 2010 at 9:34 pm

  3. jen

    pleased Quintus and you are finding that balance 🙂

    March 5, 2010 at 10:06 pm

  4. Addie

    I find myself stressing so much more about CJ’s test/exams than what he does … and it causes us to “fight” about it!!! 😦

    March 6, 2010 at 5:52 pm

  5. Wenchy

    Kevin does his own thing… Liam apparently never needs to study for anything and Victoria is proper lol

    March 9, 2010 at 10:03 am

  6. Its a really fine line to walk between motivating our kids and pushing them too hard.
    Strongs Mel.

    March 9, 2010 at 8:34 pm

Leave a Reply

