Super Mom

I ♥ rugby

I love rugby.  Right from little bulletjie rugby, through to the Springboks.  I ♥ rugby.

Tuesday Jason announced that he doesn’t want to play rugby anymore.

……

Okay

……

No more early Saturday mornings I tell myself.  No more sitting next to the rugby field twice a week at the rugby practise.

…..

But I’m going to miss that.  I love cheering him on.  I love watching him practise.  I love getting a chance to do nothing next to the rugby field but be there for him.  I love being able to take that many photos of him.

Did I tell him that?

No.  I told him that if he really doesn’t want to play anymore, it’s totally okay with me.  That it is his decision.

I do worry that he will be pushed out of his friendship circle.  I do worry that the other rugby boys won’t want to play with him anymore but we will have  cross that bridge, if and when it happens.

For now though … no more bulletjie rugby.

I’m going to miss it.

2008

Mooi Rivier dag 106

2009

IMG_7730

9 responses

  1. Who knows? Maybe he will change his mind. Many years of rugby still to come.

    March 11, 2010 at 12:53 pm

  2. jen

    look at that face!!!!

    I think your being wise not to push him

    March 11, 2010 at 1:52 pm

  3. Its great that you’re not forcing him to continue. Too many kids are pressured into competing in a sport.

    March 11, 2010 at 10:25 pm

  4. Whatever Jay is happy with

    March 12, 2010 at 12:36 pm

  5. Moaning Myrtle

    You are so good to let him do what he wants to, a lot of parents push their children too much to do things they don’t want to.

    March 12, 2010 at 2:48 pm

  6. I’m sure it’s a bittersweet feeling. You’re a good mama! 🙂

    March 13, 2010 at 12:43 am

  7. Mel

    Aw, bittersweet ne. but at least you have the memories and the photos!

    March 13, 2010 at 1:39 pm

  8. Good for you for allowing him to make his own decisions.

    March 15, 2010 at 2:29 pm

Leave a Reply

