Super Mom

Freedom Day

From Wikipedia

Freedom Day is a South African public holiday celebrated on April 27.

It celebrates freedom and commemorates the first post-apartheid elections held on that day in 1994.

The elections were the first non-racial national elections where everyone of voting age of over 18 from any race group including non-citizens were allowed to vote, no voters roll was used.

Previously, under the apartheid regime, non-whites had only limited rights to vote.

Today is Freedom Day.  I wish they had given it another day.  Maybe then I’d want to celebrate the day.  YES everyone deserves the right to vote.  To be treated equal.  Absolutely.  No doubt.  Goes without saying.

But Freedom day?  Could it not have been names Voters day.  Or even F.uck Apartheid day.

The word freedom, makes me think that my children can play where they want.  Free.

That I don’t have to lock my car doors as soon as I get in.  Free.

That I don’t have to get my husband to walk in first when we get home after dark.  Free.

That I don’t have to have burglar proofing right around my porch, making it look just like a jail cell.  Free.

That I don’t have to sit outside and braai, with pepper spray.  Free.

I wonder how free that little 1 year old girl feels, who were beat up so badly that she stopped breathing.  Three times.

I wonder how free that granny feels, that had to watch her husband being beat to death, while she was being raped by 5 men.  While they physically attached her very young granddaughter.

I wonder how free I should feel, with a sms going around on how whites should be killed today, on Freedom Day.  How free I should feel with M@lema singing, kill the boer.

Nee sorry.  I’m not feeling free.  Not one bit.  Neither does my housekeeper, gardener who gets attacked in the location.  No-one feels free.  Except for the criminals.

Anyway.  Like I said.  Maybe if it wasn’t called Freedom day, I would be happier.

Some groups and social movements celebrate a version of Freedom Day called UnFreedom Day in which they mourn the unfreedom still experienced by the poor.[1]

8 responses

  1. Elize

    maybe they should call it I-want-Freedom day.

    I really admire the people who have to live with that everyday.

    April 27, 2010 at 11:04 am

  2. I was so upset about that story with the baby I couldn’t even listen/watch/read the news.

    April 27, 2010 at 11:40 am

  3. Excellent post, Mel. So true and so freaking sad!

    April 27, 2010 at 5:43 pm

  4. jen

    praying for you and your family
    extremely sad

    April 27, 2010 at 8:35 pm

  5. Oh you hit is right on the button.

    April 27, 2010 at 8:40 pm

  6. Good for you speaking your mind and putting it…so vividly. I wish people in America would realize just how very good we really do have it already.

    May you get that peace & freedom you desire.
    Bless you!

    ps Came over from Cat’s.

    April 28, 2010 at 3:04 am

  7. Well written Mel!!

    April 28, 2010 at 11:42 am

  8. Excellent post and I think you captured what we all are thinking. Freedom, what freedom?

    April 29, 2010 at 9:56 am

Leave a Reply

