Super Mom

Worried

I’m worried about Quintus’ knee.  He hurt it last week Thursday in a rugby game.  Very first scrum of the game.  Unfortunately there were no replacement players and he had to finish the game.  Which he did and I think he ended up playing a good game too.  That night though, he couldn’t walk and Friday morning he was even worse.

I kept him out of school and thankfully with the long weekend, he didn’t have to do much but rest.  Unfortunately though, the knee did not heal up as I had hoped.  It was still swollen and he can still not put his full weight on it.  After speaking to the doctor’s assistant last Friday, she said I didn’t have to take Quintus to see him as there’s not much that they can do.

Well today I took him to another doctor and he is not happy.   He says by now (a week later) it should have healed up and he is worried that there is a tear in his ligament or even worse that he has injured his cartilage.  He is on medication now and if by Sunday his knee is not significantly better, he has to be admitted to hospital so that they can do a scope.

He has a rugby game tomorrow and was so hoping that his doctor would tell him he can just bandage it and play.  However, he said there is NO way he is playing tomorrow and so far, not next week either.  He immediately got tears in his eyes.  I felt so very sad for him.  I know how important his rugby is.

We’ll be there tomorrow.  To support his team.  I do hope his knee will heal up before next week.   I really don’t want him to have serious damage to that knee.

11 responses

  1. Oi!! Shame man!! Hope it heals fast, but he’d better listen to the doc or else there’ll be serious damage done

    April 28, 2010 at 9:47 pm

  2. jen

    praying it isnt serious
    pleased hes getting some pain relief

    April 29, 2010 at 6:43 am

  3. Jax

    Ag shame, it sounds so sore and I can just imagine how disappointed Quintus is that he can’t play. At least he will be there to support the team.
    xx

    April 29, 2010 at 9:56 am

  4. As a former athlete – and wife of someone who ended his sporting career due to ligament injury, I will say this: do NOT wait to take him for x-rays, scans, Mri’s etc. If there is even slight damage, and he over-does it at all, he can do permanent damage to his knee and trust me – he doesn’t want to be doing that to himself at the age of 9/10? My husband tore his ACL at university, and will need surgery again in 10 years time. His FOURTH surgery. With knees, it never freakin’ ends. He should not have finished the game, it is not his fault if there are no replacements. Oy vey. I hope it’s nothing serious!

    April 29, 2010 at 11:43 am

    • I’m very upset that he had to finish the game. It was when I hurt my back, so I didn’t walk onto the field. The coach was there and said he should play on. So you recon I should take him to a orthopedic surgeon? I’ll never get in unless they admit him to hospital

      April 29, 2010 at 11:46 am

  5. AG shame man. Please make work of it as much as you possibly can. My hubby is a rugby crock – so many injuries not treated as they should have been at school and now bugging him later in life.

    April 29, 2010 at 12:27 pm

  6. Agh shampies man 😦

    April 29, 2010 at 2:25 pm

  7. Shame man, hope it heals soon.

    April 29, 2010 at 4:50 pm

  8. mel

    Mel, I am only reading this now and am not sure what has transpired but I would get him to an Ortho sooner than later. As Ness says with knees you need immediate attention and preventative treatment. Geez, I would want to bliksem that bloody coach, it was incredibly irresponsible of him to make your son play on. If you were in the States you could sue for medical expenses, in fact, I would still write a letter of complaint if I were you. It shouldnt happen again to anyone. Sjoe.

    May 1, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    • Unfortunately things are as it were. I’m taking him back to the doctor on Monday. I’m not seeing any improvement on his knee, although he says it hurts less. The swelling is still the same. If the doctor feels it’s still the same, he will be admitted on Monday. (it’s the only way we’ll be able to see a Orthopedic surgeon – they are THAT busy!)

      May 1, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    • On 2010/05/01 08:38 PM,

      May 1, 2010 at 9:28 pm

Leave a Reply

