Super Mom

Stay-at-home-Mom

I was thinking just the other day or every day how I would love to be a SAHM.

When I have a sick child or two like today, I wouldn’t have to rush them out of the house by 7 am, in the cold, to drop the other(s) off at school.

I wouldn’t still be doing homework at 8 pm, just because I couldn’t leave work at my normal time.

I wouldn’t have to take happy pills all tax season long, just so that I don’t cause permanent emotional damage to my children.

My personal paperwork will be in order. I will not wonder what forms need to go back to school and when.  Accounts will be paid on time.  It won’t look as though a war zone has hit my dining room / study.

I might even cook actually food…veggies and all.

Most importantly though, I’ll be a less stressed and happier Mom.  I would have more patience.

Happy Mom = Happy Home right?

Maybe I would even have time to buy myself a Mothers day gift, since my husband forgot.

11 responses

  1. Wenchy

    I think my time for being at home with my kids have come and gone sadly since I don’t have a husband who is going to take care of me and my children… mmmm I owe I owe so off to work I go.

    I do wish I was a stay at home mom again. I did love it.

    May 11, 2010 at 11:37 am

  2. Being a SAHM might sound easy, but it’s hard. Hard not to earn your own money. Is there anyway that you can scale back the number of clients that you have and work from home instead? I’m finding that working from home does make it easier. Harder, because you’re working – and having a sick kiddo at home has it’s own stresses, but at least we are *there*. You know?

    May 11, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    • Nope, can’t do that. I need all the money I get unfortunately! Pipe-dream this one 🙂

      May 11, 2010 at 3:12 pm

  3. Mmm, I’m on the other side of this coin at the moment. I am a stay at home mom and I need to go back to work – SOON! Although it is nice to have time for everything, it does get a bit boring for me though. A half-day something would be nice.

    May 11, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    • Now come work for me half-day!!! 🙂 Now, if only we had the distance problem!

      May 11, 2010 at 3:11 pm

  4. Here’s hoping that you can find a position that will get you home earlier and be a lot less stressful. Our kids are not at home for that long. These days by 14 they are moving away from us emotionally if not physically. Once they can look after themselves, they dont worry when mom comes home.

    May 11, 2010 at 2:10 pm

  5. I often think half day would be perfect for me. SAHM – I might just murder them.

    May 11, 2010 at 2:14 pm

  6. I have been thinking about this a lot lately now that my kids are in school – they need me more in the afternoons and I would love to either have a job that allows me that flexibility or be able to work from home!

    I totally get the cooking thing though – I am on study leave and for those 2 weeks twice a year my family get decent healthy tasty meals and I don’t dread cooking!

    May 11, 2010 at 2:26 pm

  7. Tammy

    I am a SAHM. I’m still wondering when I’ll actually cook real food again.

    May 11, 2010 at 11:21 pm

  8. Elizabeth

    For sure happy Mom is Happy Home. Hope your kids get healthy fast!!

    May 12, 2010 at 7:27 am

  9. Mel

    Ai Mel, I cant imagine the stress. I am so fortunate to be home with mine even though I bitch reguarly! But at least I have the option…I do hope your circumstances change someday and you too have the option. 🙂

    May 17, 2010 at 7:30 pm

Leave a Reply

