Super Mom

Hunting and frogs

Just this morning, Zander came running into the office.  We had to save a frog that was being cornered by the dogs.  He was standing between the, keeping the dogs from the frog.  I helped him pick it up and we took it to another part of the garden.  My sweet soul.  So caring towards animals.  I feel so proud that I’m raising sons who care.

Then, later my thoughts turned to Tommie.  He has gone hunting with his dad this weekend.  Wow…how different.  Here’s someone who is going out of his way to kill.

I am SO against social hunting, it’s not even funny.  Tommie and I have an unwritten rule that he doesn’t even discuss what went on at the hunting farm.  I don’t want to know and I don’t care.

I don’t mind professional hunters (or not as much).  I know that at least they won’t hurt the animal first.  They won’t scare it.  They shoot and kill with one shot.  Social hunters … well, they drink.  They go hunting once a year.  I don’t think they are able to kill the animal, with only one shot without the animal suffering at all, every time they shoot.

Tommie does shoot well though.  So back in my mind I hope that he will not cause pain.

I hope my boys grow up to keep some of the love and caring personality they have now.

5 responses

  1. Oh wow! I hate hunting – of any kind.

    VERY cute of Zander though 🙂 Did you know apparently eating/biting frogs can actually kill dogs? My mom gets quiet worked up about it when ours start chasing frogs!

    June 11, 2010 at 8:11 am

  2. So sweet that he cares about a frog. I was so against hunting until I married a professional hunter. And you are right – he does not tolerate drinking when you hunt, and if the animal is not out on the first shot by the (non) pro hunter, he will help it with the next.

    I actually have an issue with the way that abbatoirs work – but that is a whole other can of worms.

    June 11, 2010 at 8:31 am

  3. Totally feel the same about hunting! 😦
    Good that you are teaching your sons to have respect for living things – or else they wouldn’t have cared for a frog!

    June 11, 2010 at 8:39 am

  4. Such a sweet boy 🙂

    Our partners are also of those who go on yearly social hunting trips and Rene also knows not to discuss any details with me.

    We went on a girl’s weekend not so long ago and on the game farm they had built a small building with holes in the bottom of the wall right at the watering holes. The “hunters” will then wait in the building until the animals come to drink, and shoot them 😯 I was totally not impressed and told the owner what I thought of his “brilliant” idea.

    June 11, 2010 at 3:05 pm

  5. My husband hunts too. I hate it, but he really does try to kill with one shot, and we eat the deer. It’s not just killing for no reason. And there’s no drinking. That’s crazy!

    June 12, 2010 at 2:32 pm

Leave a Reply

