Super Mom

Vuvuzela

If you follow me on Facebook, you will know that I’m not a fan of the Vuvuzela.   I appreciate the fact that it is South African.  I appreciate the fact that when you blow one, you will most probably somewhere, hear one reply.

I don’t appreciate the constant noise.  If they would use it when a goal was scored, I’d be all for it btw.

I do however feel very proudly South African at the moment.  I love seeing our flags everywhere.  On hats, cars, houses, clothes.  Everywhere.  I love it.

I love the way sport can bring people together. 

I thought that since this is such a big occasion and one that my boys will look back on when they are older, I’d let them blow the Vuvuzela …… (mostly for photographic purposes!!! hahhaha)

WC 2010014

WC 2010002

I had to laugh when a black man walked by and saw Quintus blowing the Vuvuzela.  “Oh little white boy can do it!”  lol  I had to smile

WC 2010017

Go Bafana-Bafana….we are behind you!!!

7 responses

  1. I also hate the sound of those things. They’ve been going here the whole day and it is really getting on my nerves. I agree that blowing the thing when a goal is scored would be appreciated.

    Nice pics though.

    June 11, 2010 at 3:13 pm

  2. Now it has started and it’s a bug, there are a couple of petitions online to ban the vuvuzela from the World Cup. Here’s one:
    http://www.petitiononline.com/2010WC/petition.html

    June 12, 2010 at 12:24 am

  3. jen

    wow!!! what a long horn

    it was pleasing to see all the people together celebrating together the opening of the games on the news last night

    I pray for a peaceful games

    June 12, 2010 at 6:17 am

  4. We have banned the Vuvu from our home. It’s been a wise decision.

    June 12, 2010 at 11:36 am

    • Definitely a wise decision.

      Melany ت

      June 12, 2010 at 12:49 pm

  5. I also banned my kids from blowing theirs in the house, but I do regress … I tried to blow it and when I got it right, I blew a few more times, until the children reminded me that its not allowed 😉

    June 14, 2010 at 8:20 am

  6. I share your sentiment…

    July 11, 2010 at 12:59 pm

Leave a Reply

