Super Mom

Study methods

I “think” that I have found a study method that works.  I hope. 

This is all new to us.  Quintus being the eldest and this our first year of exams, it was difficult to say the least for us to find something that works.  For both of us.

Children differ and the way I studied differs from what works for Quintus.  Since some of you asked what is working for him now, I’ll give you a small break-down.  Maybe you have an even better idea and then please share!!!!!

  • Firstly I sit with him and choose a certain amount of work to study.  Our mini-goal before he may take a break.
  • We sit together and I will go through the work.  I will point out (even write small notes of) the important parts.  I’m sure that in time he will learn from me and will be able to do this himself.
  • I then leave him to read through the work 3 times.
  • He must then make his own notes of the important words  (while still looking in the book) ….a summary, under each heading.
  • He then takes the summary, closes the notes and see if he can recall what he wrote.
  • He will then come back to me, I’ll ask him some questions and he takes his break.

I have realized that Quintus needs to write down what he is learning.  He doesn’t concentrate by reading.  He is forced to concentrate when he writes.   However, he doesn’t write fast, so I can’t expect him to write everything.

This works for us.  For now.   I just wish we had more time to prepare for next week’s exam!!!

Swot 002 copy

13 responses

  1. Wow Mel thats seriously awesome!!! I really admire your dedication!!! Honestly I never ever found a study method that worked for me. Probably cos I hated it so much!

    July 15, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    • Thank you, I appreciate it!

      July 16, 2010 at 9:14 am

  2. Cheryl

    You make me feel so very ashamed of myself. I HATED (i seldom use that word) studying. I barely made it thru school. Perhaps in retrospect coz my parents never made an effort ever 2 help me or encourage me or anything.
    As a parent now, i’ve realised that i’ve perpetrated the same.
    You have my deepest, admiration & respect & honour.

    July 15, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    • Thank you. I don’t think you should be ashamed of yourself though. We are all just different parents.

      July 16, 2010 at 9:12 am

  3. Great method! Hard work! 😀 Good luck!

    July 16, 2010 at 9:21 am

  4. Michelle

    All that worked for me was like they say “papagaai reseteer” Only in grade 12 i started to draw pictures for myself….

    July 16, 2010 at 9:53 am

    • No look, Quintus doesn’t even listen to himself when he studies lol He will never manage that! 😉

      July 16, 2010 at 9:56 am

  5. Lilly

    I understand him very well – I have to write down when I learn as well. I never ever prepared for any exam without writing down, with huge pain of my hand on the end.
    Maybe any mind-mapping would be helpful? Drawing instead of writing? I do it with Marta to memorize poems etc. 🙂

    July 16, 2010 at 2:02 pm

  6. Wow I admire you immensely. I hated studying for exams. I admire your dedication to helping your son through it.

    July 16, 2010 at 6:35 pm

  7. jen

    my thoughts and prayers are with him
    all the best to him next week

    July 17, 2010 at 11:53 pm

  8. That sounds like a winning method!

    July 18, 2010 at 3:11 pm

  9. Juan also does not concentrate when reading – to him reading is the biggest pain ever. He also makes notes etc. and it seems to help. Good luck to you both.

    July 19, 2010 at 4:31 pm

  10. Writing works best for me too!

    I’m sure you will have perfected the art of studying with kids before Logan and I will need to embark on the experience.

    Well I hope so anyway!
    Good luck with the exams and I hope you survive 🙂

    July 20, 2010 at 1:36 pm

Leave a Reply

