Super Mom

Exam protocol

Quintus is starting his exams tomorrow.  Two weeks off writing exams every single day.  This is when I’m hugely thankful that for these two weeks, I can work half-day to help him study.  It isn’t going to be easy!!

This is not the point of my post though.  We have friends, who are well aware of Quintus’ exams.  Their children aren’t writing exams yet.

Now I don’t mind a small visit.  Coffee break en so but Quintus is very easily distracted and obviously with friends coming over, he won’t be able to study.  They came yesterday and again today and I almost feel like I want to ask them to leave.  I hint about Quintus needing to study and still they stay.

Unfortunately by the time they left it was late.  Well, late for Quintus.  He can’t study at night.  He just can’t.  So next time I’ll have to tell them to please leave.  That Quintus needs to study.

I can’t remember from when we were kids but I can’t remember my parents having friends over during exam time. 

7 responses

  1. Cheryl

    Life was different when we were kids. No cell phones, very limited or no tv. Ppl visited on invitation. They didnt just drop in. Yup a whole other lifetime ago.

    July 18, 2010 at 10:10 pm

  2. I think it was inconsidered of them to come back the next day knowing your son had to study 😦

    Good luck with the exams … I am sure it will go well.

    BTW, in what grade is Quintus?

    July 19, 2010 at 8:15 am

    • Quintus is in Grade 4. Only his second exams ever 😉

      July 19, 2010 at 10:29 am

      • Caleb is also in Grade 4 and they only write their exam end of August.

        Good luck to both you and Quintus!!!

        July 20, 2010 at 7:56 am

  3. I really think they should be more considerate.

    July 19, 2010 at 12:08 pm

  4. I have become the green monster here. Juan is very easily distracted and any excuse will do to get him away from his books. I now send the friends home (politely, only the first time, and then not).

    July 19, 2010 at 5:47 pm

  5. That isn’t fair at all. I think you might need to be firm with them the next time around!

    Good luck with your exams Quintus!

    July 20, 2010 at 1:32 pm

Leave a Reply

