Super Mom

Teachers on strike

I’ve never been an advocate of workers striking.   Taking a small holiday because you aren’t happy with your pay.  Even giving it a dance, to proof that you are unhappy….for the record I cry when I’m unhappy.  I don’t do a random dance.

Anyway, our school decided to join the strike-community.  Not just our school.  All schools.

I just love what they are teaching my children.  The very next time my children don’t like what a teacher is teaching them, they will just go sit outside the class.  Strike away.

I love how the strike is also scheduled for the day after a long weekend.  Super long weekend for them.

Oh and as it is, my son had to write his exam AFTER the school holidays because they couldn’t complete all the work before the holidays (thanks to the World cup).  Now we are 2 weeks behind due to the exam AND another day has been taken to strike?

Ag nee asb.  I do not find this amusing.

8 responses

  1. I nearly fell off my chair yesterday when Juan told me that the teachers at his school might be striking on Tuesday 😯

    Juan is going to extra classes, doing extra assignments etc. as they are behind (yes, due to the soccer). I feel if the kids are willing, the teachers also should be.

    What the hell is going on. No happy dance for me today. Toi-Toi away for them – vloermoer for me.

    August 6, 2010 at 12:04 pm

  2. We also got a letter from the High School, but with a note attached to their grievances. When I read through it I have to agree that they are justified in striking!
    No schooling will take place on Tuesday, but there will be teachers looking after the children.
    I also do not believe in strikes, but sometimes they don’t give you any other option…

    August 6, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    • Unfortunately our school will be closed on Tuesday…make it our problem …

      August 6, 2010 at 1:42 pm

  3. nessdrovers

    It’s disgusting. They’re educators. Yes, they’re paid awful salaries, but they should be setting an example to the youth, not being an example of what NOT to do. Rather try to do creative fundraisers to supplement their salaries, or like ANYONE else in the world – start a second part time job, learn a craft, fokken verkoop koekies of iets, but DON’T STRIKE. Where is the money going to fall out of…the sky? If I want more money – what do I have to do? Work harder, work smarter, and they shouldn’t be any different. Can you tell this subject has me lekker die moer in? Plus, I’m grateful for the teachers at my kids school – but then again, private school. Shoowee.

    August 6, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    • Hahaha and I thought *I* was ticket off!

      August 6, 2010 at 4:04 pm

  4. Drives me nuts too!

    August 6, 2010 at 11:14 pm

  5. Our school also asked us to keep the kids home – but we can send them if we have nowhere else to send them.

    Its a huge pain and honestly it pisses me off!

    August 8, 2010 at 7:52 pm

  6. Cheryl

    I have 2 agree with nessdrovers.

    August 9, 2010 at 10:07 pm

Leave a Reply

