Super Mom

Technology

Since I’m an Accountant, most of the people I work with have e-mail, internet, cell phone…..basic stuff.  I mean, that’s what you need to run a business so most of my clients do.

This afternoon, I had an older client (younger than my dad though) who doesn’t own a cell phone!!! and doesn’t have e-mail.  Okay then.  He was actually quite serious as to why he doesn’t want one.

According to him he doesn’t need it, since he grew up without e-mail and cell phone, so why now?

Well….years ago there were no cars but people sure don’t walk a lot…..and since he now drives a big 4 x 4, I’m sure he is glad people didn’t stick to “I didn’t have it as a child and don’t need it now” mentality.

Of course I can’t live without internet, e-mail and my cell phone!

6 responses

  1. I am the same. I hate the folks who ‘dont’ do stuff, like those who “don’t do facebook” tend to look down on those people who do, as if NOT doing something is somehow better than doing it. So silly! It’s still weird for me to think that when my dad was born in 1928, cars were NOT the primary way of getting around in Holland at the time. Amazing to think hey – ?

    August 19, 2010 at 4:59 pm

  2. I find this way of thinking so weird! I mean, get with it.

    August 20, 2010 at 9:12 am

  3. I agree with Cat. How can you want to stick with that kind of mentality??

    August 20, 2010 at 2:11 pm

  4. I think it’s rather a case of virtual vs real. Maybe he just prefers talking to real people and having info on paper.

    August 20, 2010 at 3:44 pm

  5. LOL, I like your analogy. My mother-in-law didn’t get the internet and didn’t care to. She couldn’t figure out why my father-in-law spent so much time with this computer box.

    Guess what? She now has an IPAD at 83 and absolutely loves it. I had her shopping on the internet yesterday and she was pretty excited.

    August 21, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    • Wow at 83! That’s great. In the past year I also got my father-in-law to use the internet….from his cell phone nogal!

      August 21, 2010 at 6:10 pm

Leave a Reply

